Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
36
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2004
Morgana Donovan is a white witch. Nash Kirkland is a screenwriter for horror movies.
This romance has all the drama and emotion of all Nora Roberts books. The book stands alone and also compliments the other two.
If you like Nora Roberts or books about witches then your'll love this.[Originally release early 90's but still a great read today.]The other two of the series are Entranced and Charmed.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2004
I came accross Captivated and Charmed about six years ago and i have hunted ever since for Entranced. In this trilogy i have finally managed to read Sebastians story and of course reread the other two. This is a wonderful set of stories about herditory witches and their fight for love, i could not put it down.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2005
I'm a big Nora Roberts fan, but I bought this on a whim! Anyway...I found this book very enjoyable and along the same family line as her mcgregor series...if course adding in the witches and the lack of matchmaking!! But the closeness of the family dynamic in this book really helped me to connect to the characters! The family situations also made me laugh...one of the bits i loved was when Morgana's cousin Sebastian had dinner with her and he got to meet Nash for the first time! Saying that i also felt for the characters in the more dramatic moments! All in all a very good read! Couldn't put it down!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2006
Captivated is the first novel in the Donovan legacy, and starts as the series continues - first and foremost it is a traditional romance rather than a romantic thriller as with many of Nora Roberts' deeper stories, and I think this is what lets the book down. Although it is still a readable story and the characters are, as always, thoroughly likeable, there just doesn't seem much to get your teeth into. It's very predictable and follows the basic Roberts formula of personal difficulties getting in the way of the romance, which then have to be worked through etc, and there weren't any of the little surprises or quirks that usually make up a Roberts' narrative.

This would be worthwhile if you are a hard and fast NR fan and already like her fluffier silhouette stories, but if you prefer the deeper romantic thrillers with pace, drama and intrigue as well as romance then I'd say this isn't for you. If it's the idea of witchcraft and magic that interests you then I recommend the 'three sisters trilogy': Dance Upon the Air (1), Heaven and Earth (2) and Face the Fire (3).
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 June 2006
Morganna Donovan is a quiet white whitch going about her business of running Wicca, her curios shop. Nash Kirkland writes horror movies and has heard about 'the witch' and believes she would make a good story so trackes her down. Like most Nora Robert books, the romance begins almost immediately and if you have read the other 'witches' trilogy, don't be put off by this set s they are completely different. I must admit, i loved the story and the other two
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2000
Nora Roberts has a recipe that noone can fault. Her creative storytelling and the inteweaving stories of characters within a family draws you in, leaves you wanting to read about the next generation. If you are curious about the history and traditions of witchcraft the Donovan stories are fascinating. He series on the ever-expanding MacGregor Clan started me off, and the Donovan's certainly didn't deny my high expectations!!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
I read some previous books by this author, which I really enjoyed. So thought I would go for some more. This book took a long while to get going, and I thought the story a little bit weak and at times far fetched. I have already purchased the other three in this series, so hope the next one improves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Captivated is the first of the Donovan Legacy series by Nora Roberts. Morgana Donovan is one of three cousins born to triplets married to triplets: the Donovan brothers married the Corrigan sisters. All have special gifts: Morgana is a witch and runs a shop called WICA in her hometown, Monterey. Nash Kirkland, a man with a troubled childhood, researches and writes screenplays for movies about the supernatural. He has just moved to Monterey and intends to use Morgana as a source for his next movie, one about witchcraft. Of course they fall in love, but Nash doesn't want to be in love, and is convinced she has cast a spell on him. Whilst I believe in recycling, the last chapter is virtually a carbon copy of that in The Perfect Neighbour, in the MacGregor series by Roberts, or, actually, this one must have been the template for that last chapter, as this one was published some 7 years earlier. The later work is definitely an improvement on this one. The characters and dialogue are good, the plot fairly standard if you ignore the witch part, but the action is a little bit slow. Interesting early Roberts fare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Have read a few of Nora Roberts books and enjoyed them but this was not as exciting or interesting as I thought it would be. I bought the other 3 as well to have all the set to take on holiday. Shame I didn't read the first one before hand. Needless to say they are now in another country where someone might enjoy them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
I LOVE these stories! I think they are the best Nora Roberts books. They are amazing stories that draw you in straight away I cannot say enough about them. I never get bored reading them again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse