Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book is a follow up (not a sequel) set in the same universe as Stross's earlier Saturn's Children (and for completeness, a short story, "Bit Rot" in the anthology Engineering Infinity fits in between and is mentioned in passing here).

It is several thousand years in the future. Humanity has become extinct - and been recreated - several times. Taking our place is a flourishing society of post-humans, originally robots created to do our bidding (as described in "Saturn's Children"). They are tougher than us, better able to survive the rigours of interplanetary travel and able to be transferred, as software, from one body to another. Yet their design was originally based on ours, and they share all our failings and feelings (subject, of course, to the effects of a tweak here or there to increase empathy or decrease libido - the better to focus on the task in hand).

Krina Alizond and her kind inhabit a society that is enthusiastically colonizing the galaxy, establishing toeholds in remote systems where "beacons" are constructed to which colonists can be "beamed" and downloaded into freshly grown bodies. it's a lucrative trade, financed by massive debt, and Stross goes to some lengths to explain the economic basis of the whole thing. The debt is key here, as the brave new post-human world is nakedly capitalist: freshly created "persons" are owned by their progenitors until they have paid off the costs of their instantiation; those distant colonies are also born deeply in debt, which they generally pay off, by founding daughter colonies which are in debt to them.

As I said, the post-humans of Krina's universe inherit our failings, and it's hardly surprising to find fraud, scams and unbridled greed flourishing as part of its financial system. Krina is a historian of such things, a "nun-accountant" on an academic pilgrimage who plunges into adventure by accident (well, sort-of). Why is somebody trying to kill her? What's happened to her sister? And what does all this have to do with the failed attempt to establish the "Atlantis" colony, two thousand years before?

This book is a rollicking good read, with a crisp plot and plenty of trademark weirdness - from pirate bats to communist squid via a spacefaring church. You'd think a SF story based on debt and set in a cosmos rigidly bound to slower-than-light travel could drag, but Stross turns both of these features to his advantage, creating something both outlandish and convincing. It's recognisably the same universe as "Saturn's Children" but (like Krina's people) it has evolved too. And the slightly nerdy heroine, who gets way too deep in something she didn't expect, is also easier to identify with than an all-guns-blazing SF protagonist.

All in all, a brilliant book.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Once again Stross creates an interesting premise, but is unable to satisfactorily conclude.

This is the case with iron sunrise, the whole laundry series. We get to about 95% of the way through and then it is finished in a 1, 2, 3, often a deus ex machina.

I like Stross' work, but like Iain Banks, I think his work rate is undermining the quality control. I'd like to see him get back to the heights of Glasshouse and Accelerando.

Adequate, but I should have waited until it came out in paper-back.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
This is a tale of robots, interstellar space travel, body modification, economics, child abuse, brain downloading, deep sea diving, and more. This is set in the same universe as Saturn’s Children, although several thousand years later, when the robots have established an interstellar civilisation. Krina Alizond is a clone-daughter of Sondra, trained as a historical economics librarian, now at loose on the universe, trying to track down her clone-sister. The reason gradually becomes clear: they have a great secret, and lots of other people are after it.

The robots are “humans”, but not the old-fashioned “fragile” variety: those keep going extinct. These new improved less-fragile people still have many of the same issues, though, only with longer lives and stronger more malleable bodies for those issues to play out in.

The main thrust of the book, leavened by many delicious little scenes of utter madness, is how to run a currency across interstellar space when there is only slower-than-light travel, and the scams that can be played as a result. That might sound potentially dull, but remember, this is Stross. The complex plot weaves several threads skilfully together, until the final denouement where all becomes clear (and Stross again subverts Weber).

Good fun, with some deep ideas, and I gave it my vote for the Hugo this year.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Charles Stross is a genius. In "Saturn's Children" and "Neptune's Brood" he has created a universe of everyday surreality populated by metahumans. Who else could possibly dream up a mindbendingly, superfast space opera centred round interstellar banking, bit coinage and accounting? Who else would dream of establishing such a glorious adventure on a Ponzi scheme? Indeed, who else would make a scholar of the historiography of accountancy the heroine of this universe peopled with "robotised" exoskeletons of the Fragile (that's us, ordinary humans, by the way), mermaids and piratical space-bat underwriters?
Stross writes so well, with humour mixed in with electrifying pace... Don't forget to breathe in at the end of each chapter! He sprinkles gems along the way: "... please take the glue-gun kit and proceed to Mausoleum Companionway Three...", "It is a truth universally acknowledged, that every interstellar colony in search of good fortune must be in need of a banker.", "Death is really no more than the voluntary liquidation of an economy of microscopic free agents, the redemption of the debt of structured life." and my favourite, "The difference between merchant banking and barefaced piracy is slimmer than most people imagine."
And now I think about it I was foolish to scoff at that possible career in accountancy and banking....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
I've definitely always been a big fan of Stross' work, but this has to be his best SF book to date. Solid world building, excellent use of current tech to extrapolate likely technological evolution, great characterisation, and best of all - it's not rabidly anthro-centric like the bulk of other SF. Sure, the subjects of his book are mostly humanoid, but that's where the resemblance ends.

His use of economics borders on the genius, and the people/objects which make up the universe he's built are surprisingly believable - even the ***SPOILERS*** communist squid robots. ***SPOILERS***

I expected a good book from Stross, but not a book this good. I can't find a flaw, which almost irks me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
The core story of the book is wonderful, and there's a rich amount of world building that runs deep from accountancy, the interaction of finance and society to radiation and the physics of (non-FTL) space flight. However, it feels like there's far, far too much going on, the plot lines do all intersect and tie together but it as you read through it there's a slight lack of flow until it's all pieced together. Stross is accused (unfairly, in my opinion) of not being able to write an end to a book, but for this one it feels like he ran out of steam or had to drastically trim the word count in and the ending comes and goes in the blink of an eye without a lot of resolution.

All in all, I really enjoyed the book, I just wish the payoff was delivered slightly better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I really like Charles' quirky sense of humour. The book was gripping right to the end, and the texture of his reality was rich and expansive. My (very small) gripe is that I wish there was an 'afterword' or something - the end of the book was very sudden (can be a complete surprise when reading on a Kindle to find you got to the last page!) I wanted to know just a little more about her life after mother ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Is the man capable of writing a bad book?

Not so far, and this is no exception.

Wonderfully topical - the plot centres around "slow money" (in essence, Bitcoin), in a galaxy being colonised at small fractions of light speed, using what amounts to a Ponzi scheme.

Metahumans, mad tech and even madder users, cloning, nano - it's all here. And some sly references for the meme-spotters among us.

0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
A thrilling tale of intrigue, betrayal and interstellar accountancy, Neptune’s Brood mixes hard science, pulp plotting and economics of space travel with reckless abandon.

Neptune’s Brood tells the story of Krina, a post-human in the distant future, an accountant and specialist in fraud, as she searches for her missing sister. She gets drawn into a web of conspiracy and a galaxy wide con job that could threaten the fabric of the economy of star systems. Soon Krina is kidnapped, chased by assassins, arrested and has a run in with an accounting firm with heavy weaponry.

I’ve been a big fan of Charles Stross’s novels for a long time now, but I’ve much preferred his Laundry novels (James Bond meets HP Lovecraft with a side order of extra geekiness) to his sci-fi tales. However, Neptune’s Brood (which is a set in the same universe but not a sequel to Stross’s earlier novel Saturn’s Children) was immense fun.

The fundamentals of the galactic economy that are the basis of the novel took me a little while to get my head around, involving slow, medium and fast money, but Krina fills in the details as the plot unfolds. Stross writes with a keen eye for the ludicrous but the novel never slips into parody. Weird characters and settings just enhance the oddness of the far future, from deep sea-dwelling squid humans who mine radioactive volcanoes to deranged post humans who are transporting the bones of ‘Fragiles’ as they call the original humans in a space going church. There’s even space for a Monty Python reference to be thrown in.

If you like your space opera full of action and adventure, with a dash of thought provoking social commentary (the economics of space travel in this book and the way debt is passed on from generation to generation) the I can’t recommend Neptune’s Brood enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
I love hard sci-fi, and requiring no FTL travel is as hard as it gets for me. Add in plausible ways of financing interstellar travel and human (or post-human) greed and criminality, and you have one of the most original and "realistic" sci-fi books I think I've ever read. Will definitely buy more by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse