Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
68
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 May 2017
I quiet like the series, and have plouged through a book a day for last 6 days with this being my latest read.

On one hand the formula is not too different to prior books, but we see a bit of a slow down in pace and change. From all out action as prior, we get more underlying details revealed about people with who Harry has various relationships with, its a nice and refreshing change.

As a character, Harry does however tend to grate me the wrong way somewhat and in this book we see a lot of that. He act's so self riotous when he is no saint him self. Additionally all of his interactions with everyone aside from Murphy just seem to be getting angry and making snappy or sarcastic comments. Now I get that is his persona really and these books are not as deep on character's as other books, but he just feels too shallow for me at times.

My other flaw is the pacing seems off point, like some of the other titles, the beginning and middle seem decent in length, if not somewhat padded, but the end is just too quick.

In all its not an amazing book, but solid. Not the best in the series so far, but a nice way to whittle away the hours, for that it gets 3 stars wit ne each lost for pacing and the lack of depth to Harry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
Harry Dresden book six, in which the modern day street wizard faces a complex curse placed on a local adult film production company. It's a strong entry in the series that really seems to move the overall plotline forward in interesting ways - definitely not one to miss if you're following the ongoing story.

The plot here is solid and brings together a mix of new and existing characters to tell a story that, while remaining action filled and brilliantly comedic, feels much more about the characters and exploring them further than some of the earlier novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2004
I am a big fan of the Dresden Files but I have to say that this book left me a bit flat.
First a lot of family information gets revealed - but its just too easy. If you've read the rest of the books you understand that Harry has been trying directly and indirectly to find out about his parents for years and suddenly it given to him on a platter; its just not satisfying.
Second, the stakes in this novel are much lower than Summer Night and Death Mask. I just didn't get the same level of urgency from this novel. I have feeling that this book is a launching point for another story arc.
That said it was still much better the dross that LK Hamilton has descended to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 August 2004
Its not often you can get to book 6 and feel you've barely scratched the surface of the characters, plot etc. yet still finish the book in one sitting. This is one of those series that just seems to gain in breadth and skill. As there's no write up i'll give a quick overview:
Harry Dresden is Chicago's only practicing wizard investigator and is listed in the yellow pages. Thomas (white vamp) wants him to investigate a case for him. A movie producer is being cursed, and people around him keep on dying in strange ways. Harry jumps right in and there's plenty of action on every page. Demons, puppies, vampires, police, mysterious assassins, wizards, succubi, it's all there.
We get to see more of his growing relationship with Murphy, Ebenezer and Kincaid ome back in and there are a few twists that were definitely a surprise and an ending that seems to move Harry in a different direction to where he has always been left before. This time his life will have changed forever.
Its hard to say more without ruining it - suffice to say if you liked any of the other books you'll love this one. If you're new start with book 1 and work through. It's worth it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
Harry's back for the sixth book in the series along with the familiar faces of Murphy, Ebenezer, Bob and a very cute new puppy! If you're new to Jim Butcher's books, do yourself a favour and buy Storm Front first(and the rest too!) as they follow on from each other and it does help to have the history as you're reading. This series is simply class though and is one of the few I've read that gets better with each book. All I can say is Write faster Mr Butcher and give us more Dresden!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2006
I have had the luck to discover the Dresden files series after Mr. Butcher was well underway with it, which means I got to read five of them in a row.
The series is characterised by workmanlike prose, a terrific protagonist, and complex plots. Best of all, Mr. Butcher is master of the backstory. Each of the books further unwinds the history of the main character, while not burdening the reader with much repetition. And he is adept at restraining himself from too much explanation; he gives the reader credit for being able to put the pieces together.
Very enjoyable reads, very inventive, fast paced, and well constructed. Note to Mr. Butcher: Write more!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
Blood Rites delivers everything Dresden fans have come to expect--and then some.

Harry finds himself working on the set of a porn film, a favour to Thomas--yes, we get to see Thomas again, and this time, much like Michael and even the Alphas have had "their" books, Blood Rites is Thomas'--and whether he's fond of the idea or not, he needs the money. Besides, people are dying and at the suggestion of a viciously powerful entropy curse, Harry can't ignore the request. Plus, he does owe Thomas one.

The plot thickens, as readers have come to expect from the later volumes of The Dresden Files. The humour and light-hearted inserts are still there, but Blood Rites picks up where Death Masks left off in regards to the drama, tension, and thrills, all delivered at a break-neck pace.

When I reviewed Death Masks I said it was the heaviest Dresden yet. Blood Rites is laced with the same heaviness, yet, there are revelations that bring Harry at least some semblance of happiness following the gut-wrenching ending of Death Masks. However, there apparently must always be balance, and through his own choosing (although it can be argued that given the circumstances, he has little choice, in his own eyes) he loses something as equally precious as what he gains throughout Blood Rites.

I seem to have particularly affinity with the even-numbered Dresden books: I loved Fool Moon, Summer Knight was my favourite, and Blood Rites was excellent. Although I won't rate it higher than Summer Knight that's only because it was a different brand of awesome to Summer Knight. Blood Rites read in a similar fashion to both Storm Front and Fool Moon in that we see a return of Harry "working" on a case, instead of working by circumstance: it was a welcome return and worked perfectly in the setting. It also allowed Butcher to allow Harry to build his life back up to some level of normality after the harsh, tumultuous previous instalments.

That isn't to say that Blood Rites was an easy ride for Dresden: it's not. With Mavra back on the scene, and with Kincaid making a return--this time employed by Harry--there are plenty of issues for Dresden to stress about--and not least of all the fact that through his meddling, he's about to have one hell of an entropy curse directed his way.

The title of Blood Rites is particularly apt: we've got vampires left, right and centre, family reunions and revelations, all topped off with Harry finally learning more of the truth about probably the single person he's never truly known: his mother, Margaret LaFey. Yet, there are clearly more secrets and buried truths--even Harry knows that--and it's made clearer and clearer as the Dresden Files progress, that the truth will be revealed along the way, regardless of what it is.

Butcher can't do much wrong in The Dresden Files by now: if you like them, you're a fan and you're with him all the way. If you dislike them, then you're probably never going to warm to Harry or Butcher's brand of urban fantasy. I can't see the setup, setting, character-styling, or delivery changing much as the series progresses--and nor would I want it to. The series is as strong as it is because Butcher merely writes as he's written all along, never compromising Harry or his cases to fit in with whatever trend is currently hot in urban fantasy, a genre that can be overly trendy at times, as it's likely one of the more accessible sub-genres of fantasy for readers presently reading outside the genre.

Blood Rites was a thrill-a-minute (and not just on-set of the film...!) packed with real characters, deep and far-reaching plotlines, and the usual Dresden magic. It's been my second favourite Dresden, and that's only because Summer Knight had fae. That this, this one does have Thomas, and from the second we meet Thomas in Grave Peril, I knew he'd been an easily underestimated, kick-ass character. And, he really is.

Butcher, please, just keep doing what you're doing; it's a beautiful thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
I have read six of the Dresden books now, and enjoy them enormously. They are all gripping page turners, and that includes this one.

What I liked about this book is that as well as the usual magic and action sequences, there is a backstory about the main character becoming more developed as the story unfolds. He interacts with family he didn't know he had, and has to deal with emotions triggered by that. He develops more of a three dimensional quality in all his relationships in this book. Previous books have been more about the here and now, with little hints about what had gone before and the people that had shaped Harry. This time there is more explaination of past events, plus new characters to complicate the plot.

He also finds out some things about existing characters; McCoy and Murphy. This changes his attitude toward them which presumably will be developed in later novels. There is some juicy action in the form of Black Court Vampire showdowns and Harry aquires another household pet, a puppy. Naturally, this being the Dresden files, the puppy is no ordinary dog and saves Harry's life more than once.

Overall, a good book and well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
This is the sixth adventure for Harry Dresden, and after such a strong run it was almost inevitable that one would fall a little flat.

Don't get me wrong; it's still a good book and miles ahead of most of Butcher's competition, but for some reason the story just left me a little cold.

There are the seeds of something interesting here, with a curse striking an adult film set, a closer look at the incubi and succubi of the White Court, and an assault on a more traditional vampire enclave. While individual pieces are certainly great, they never seem to mesh quite as they should.

However, certain developments within the story render it unmissable for regular readers, as they entail several permanent changes to Harry's life and loved ones. So I would still recommend Blood Rites to Dresden fans, just be warned that while good, it's not as fabulous as most of the other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse