Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
230
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2013
I almost surprised myself by how quickly I succumbed to te urge to get the second Alex Verus book after reading the first, 'Fated'. I have to say that I enjoyed this just as much.

Alex is a London-based mage who runs a magic shop and despite being apprenticed to a dark mage in his youth reckons that he's left that behind him. Well, he may not class himself as a dark mage, but as one of the characters points out, he's been the object of several assassination attempts and not many of the assassins are still standing. This is a high body-count book.

For a mage who doesn't class himself as powerful Alex's talents are unique. He can see the future, not a single future as it will happen, but all the strands of futures showing what might happen. It means he knows just when to duck, an especially useful talent when someone is pointing a high velocity rifle at his head and about to squeeze the trigger.

After nearly getting killed four times in the first twenty four hours of this book Alex might be forgiven for thinking someone is out to get him, but he's not the real target. Someone has figured out how to suck the power out of magical creatures and when two of those magical creatures are counted amongst Alex's very small circle of trusted friends, this understandably pisses him off.

Also Luna, who Alex has been teaching to control her curse (a curse that kills anyone she comes into close contact with) in endangered by a developing new relationship.

This book brings back some characters we met in the first one: Sonder the young time-mage; Talisin a council member Alex almost trusts, and Cinder and Deleo, antagonists last time, but it's more complicated than that, now. There's a new bad guy in town, though it's just possible that Alex's old enemy is still lurking in the background.

This is developing into an excellent series. I seem to have been reading a cluster of male-magician-urban-fantasy books this year, all of which I've enjoyed, but it's particularly nice to have a British-based story as a contrast to Harry Dresden, Atticus O'Sullivan and Isaac Vainio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
I've really enjoyed the Alex verus novels and they seem pretty much of even par quality-wise throughout.

I bought the first of these books as a recommendation because i bought ben aaronovitch's PC Grant series and if you have also read those then you would no doubt like this too. I've seen some reviews talk a little about how these novels go down the 'adult fiction' route somewhat, but i wouldnt worry about that too much. The author had previously written adult fiction and these are stories about an urban wizard with magical creatures living in hyde park - it's bound to seem a little like adult fiction!

If you are looking to buy this book and havent read any of the others in the series then i would recommend that you do, or that you at least get the first book - 'fated' before buying this one. Although it could be read as a stand alone novel, it is much better read in sequence and will fill in more of the details for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
After reading all three of the Alex Verus series, I waiting in eager anticipation for the fourth one.

It's "urban fantasy" with magic of various "styles", so we see mages who specialise in areas like "Time", "Earth", "Mind", etc. The "good" mages aren't really that good, but the "dark" mages are mainly that bad! Being British and knowing a little of London, the travels of Alex around the big city and the surrounding countryside are quite evocative. The cast of characters is pretty varied, with plenty of notable "baddies".

There have been comments that Verus is another Harry Dresden ... well yes and no ... Dresden is, especially in the later stories, the classic zap mage, blasting away, blowing things and creatures up. Whereas Verus has very limited powers to influence "now" ... but he's "diviner" who can see the future, and that's got a different type of power!!

All in all, I'd well recommend this series to anyone
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This series just keeps getting better with each book. If you like THE DRESDEN FILES your going to love these books, the books are similar and Alex Versus is very like Harry Dresden but there are more than enough differences as not to be the same.
I'm really enjoying how Alex Versus's character is growing with each book and the introduction of exciting new characters. Overall I would recommend that anyone who is going to read this book should start with the first book in the series to get the most out of these books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
Another novel and Alex Verus series , once again taken into the world of Mages , adapts and elementals . An interesting story was wondering around politics and machinations of various sections of magicians. It is an interesting read attractive in one of the characters develop into full-blown individuals , I would strongly recommend this to anyone who likes this type of narrative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
I was caught in alex verus world the minute that sample ran out - I had to have the rest of the story immediately. I liked all the main characters and their adventures which kept me so caught up I purchased episode before I even finished the first story!! Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
Bought this as it was recommended by Jim Butcher. The alex verus book first book delves quickly into the character development the personalities of af the secondary characters are treated just as importantly. Background and locations are adequatly described with suffiicient detail to be imagined but not to the point of tedium. What i like about this series is the main character is flawed and knows it he works well within his limites and follows what he believes to be right regardless of the rules. The novel is also a nice tableau of how the spirit of the law is more important that the letter. Looking forward to book two
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
An enjoyable attempt at combining magic and sorcery with everday reality, but not sure if the author completely pulls tis off or is clear about their audience. Is it 'teen' fiction or intended for an older audience? This doesn't meant that the stroy isn't told at a cracking pace, and soem of the situations are intriguing but the twists and turns are sligthly simplistic and the characters don't appear to be fully developed. Still this is only the second novel, and has entertained me sufficiently that I will persist with the other two which ar already loaded on my kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Wasn't expecting much from this but was delighted to find it a really good read. Really good characters and use of magic, sort of like Harry Dresden crossed with Jack Nightingale, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Having a dark past, well a couple of years of one, to live down can make you vulnerable. A reputation can save you or get you killed. You live or die by choices you make sometimes... Your friends can make or break you. We never actually get to see how any of these people actually make a living, day to day, but this is a dark underworld that we get a glimpse of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here