Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
23
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2017
Gift but no complaints so must be good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2001
Merely to call this novel "arousing" would be like imagining that you have adequately described the Eiffel Tower by terming it "tall"! Once started I could not stop myself from lusting after, fantasising about and yearning for the beautiful Belinda Seward. A warning to all male readers: don't start reading Portia Da Costa's "Gothic Blue" if you are trying to lead a purer life. The setting, the story, the characters and their incredible sexual acts are all precisely calculated to have you lusting, lusting and lusting more than you ever have done before in the whole of your life. This is the hottest erotic piece of writing you are ever likely to encounter on the shelves since the turn of the millenium. If I could give it a six star rating I would!! Please Portia, more! more! more! I am totally addicted.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2007
Portia da Costa has done it again! Or perhaps I should say, Black Lace has done it again - with a reprint of her 1996 novel 'Gothic Blue.' This is a timeless novel that is as fresh today as it was over ten years ago. It lives up to its erotica label from the very start - a prelude in which we are introduced to Count Andre von Kassel and the evil Countess Isidora Katori. The spell that is cast on the Count divides him from his true love, Arabelle, for all time - or at least, for four hundred plus years, when the arrival of Belinda Seward and her lover, Jonathan Sumner, at the Count's dilapidated manse gives the slumbering, suffering Count Kassel new hope.

While his blonde, mute, gorgeous servants (two females and a male) keep Lindi and Johnny `occupied' when they're not happily occupied with each other, it is the developing relationship between Andre and Lindi that drives the story forward. Will she succumb to his advances (yes), will it be all she imagines (oh yes) will she help him in his quest to lift the curse before the equally ageless Isidora interferes? The answer to that question I leave to you to discover when you read the book.

Elements of fairy tales and magic and timeless love meld seamlessly with a whole lot of steamy sex to make this book a winner. Congratulations, Ms da Costa, on this reprint. It's a great way to launch a reader into the incomparable imagination of the lively, lovely work of Portia da Costa - and a treat for anyone already familiar with her reliable, riveting prose.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2001
If you're looking for an erotic tale that's just that bit different and something that makes you use your brain - rather than the hackneyed 'we're all part of a secret society' - this one's for you.
Gorgeous characters, decadent surroundings, fabulous sex... it's a book you can enjoy on a surface level, and then enjoy again at a deeper level when you recognise the subtleties in the plot. I won't give any secrets away, but there's something very X-files ish about the paranormal world Belinda discovers.
Enjoy it!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 June 2007
Having not read an erotic novel for some time (I prefer short stories), I wasn't sure what to expect. Full-length erotic novels tend to waffle on a bit, and there's not enough sex in them for my liking. Not so with Gothic Blue - it's full of copulating couples! But rather than it coming across as a shameless s**g-fest, it's all worked seamlessly into the plot. The result, an exciting story with lots of red-hot sex - a real page turner!

Having an obsession with paranormal stories and characters myself, I looked forward to reading this. I wasn't disappointed. This is the tale of Belinda Seward and her boyfriend Jonathan. Hoping to inject new life into their relationship, they go away on holiday.

When disaster strikes, the young couple think their trip is ruined. Stranded, they start to walk and find themselves at Sedgwick Manor, a Gothic priory in the middle of nowhere. In the midst of a powerful storm, the couple find shelter in the grounds. With no car and no mobile telephone, the outlook is bleak.

However, the storm seems to do something to Belinda and Jonathan. Stuck in the back of beyond, they are overcome with sudden lust and pounce on one another with reckless abandon and have an explosive night of passion; during which Belinda gets the feeling they are being watched. This only fuels her excitement.

The next day Belinda heads to the main house seeking assistance so she and Jonathan can be on their way. No such luck. She meets the handsome mute Oren, who offers hospitality but no means of getting back on the road. A strange presence in the house compels Belinda to explore. What she finds will change her and Jonathan's lives forever.

This isn't your typical vampire story. I was really impressed with the plot, it was very original - and the sex was damn hot! As Belinda and Jonathan embark on a journey of sexual discovery, you feel yourself wanting to be part of the action, and step into the shoes of the characters.

This book is so hot it'll burn your fingers! Bring on Gothic Heat!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2001
I have only recently discovered Portia Da Costa's books - you must read HOTBED! - and can't believe what I've been missing. GOTHIC BLUE is everything erotica should be - and more. This book is like Hammer Horror come to life - with all the hidden (and not so hidden!) sensuality and spookiness of the original vampire stories. It's not only highly erotic, it's also a great bit of storytelling, with masses of sex, and tension, and some truly scary moments. Buy it now! Read it - and enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2001
A friend suggest I read this author and I was pleasantly surprised that this sort of book could be not only extremely erotic, but was well written with an intriguing plot. More please!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2001
Merely to call this novel "arousing" would be like imagining that you have adequately described the Eiffel Tower by terming it "tall"! Once started I could not stop myself from lusting after, fantasising about and yearning for the beautiful Belinda Seward. A warning to all male readers: don't start reading Portia Da Costa's "Gothic Blue" if you are trying to lead a purer life. The setting, the story, the characters and their incredible sexual acts are all precisely calculated to have you lusting, lusting and lusting more than you ever have done before in the whole of your life. This is the hottest erotic piece of writing you are ever likely to encounter on the shelves since the turn of the millenium. If I could give it a six star rating I would!! Please Portia, more! more! more! I am totally addicted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2001
A new story from Portia Da Costa is always a pleasure, and this has to be one of her best. 'Gothic Blue' has the lot - a gripping story, a delicious setting provided by a remote Gothic priory, incredible sexual chemistry, obsession, the paranormal and the exciting aristocrat André von Kastel. The sex - and there's lots of it! - is tense, powerful and relentless from start to end. A great book, and one I know I shall read again and again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
An enjoyable book. Interesting supernatural storyline with much sex throughout (each chapter). From a man's point of view (I know these books are written for women), I would have to say that the sex is probably more geared to women, which however is an interestng insight into what women find erotic. I would have liked to have read more about the evil sorceress. She seemed more exciting to me (from a male point of view)! On the whole, an entertaining, erotic, gothic read. I recommend it to both women and men (I bought my wife a copy).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse