Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2013
Depending on ones taste, I personally loved it as its well written on a fantastic subject and interesting to some
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
I am not competent to review this volume as a histoprian. However it reads like a novel and helprd me to better understand the horrows of war to the degree that I can only express thanks I nevr had to go to war.Why statesmen and politians seem eager to enter in to conflict baffels me.

Another excellent book which I am reading is Postwar By Tony Judt. I cannot imagine a better analysis of Europe after 1945.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
I have read the previous titles in the trilogy and found them absorbing. I am an amateur student of military history so am well informed. There is still new information to glean from this well written work. I enjoyed it completely and recommend it to any fellow history nut.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
I have not read it as I bought it for my husband who has a catholic reading taste. He has now read it and thought it an excellent read with in depth coverage of the facts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Very good copy as described. worth the money. arrived as indicated. i have been engrossed by this book. A real eye opener
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Military history as it should be written.Easy to read with interesting anecdotes showing the human aspect of war without sacrificing the military detail.I first became aware of Rick Atkinson when I purchased Crusade(about the first Gulf war). From then on I have looked forward to all his books especially his magnificent trilogy of Americans fighting in the European theatre of world war 2.
This is the final part of this masterful narrative .Anyone interested in this area of WW2 combat should have a copy of this in their collection
The first part of the trilogy is The Army at Dawn (North Africa).The second The Day of Battle( Italian campaign) followed by this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
another brilliant analysis of battles in WW II balanced analysis of war between Allies as well as against Germany
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Very interesting read, but you need to get the first to books in the trilogy first
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Well written, interesting and captures the spirit of what actually goes on in an Army given all the soldier personalities in play; with the addition of numerous politicos
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
The book shows the war from different sides. Of course military operations but also problems with VD, supplay, wars between high comanders, statistics
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)