Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
12
3.9 out of 5 stars
Globalisation, Democracy And Terrorism
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 March 2017
best, excellent, satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Gift - well received
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2007
Eric Hobsbawm is a really good writer - clear, calm and with gentle ironic overtones.

The essays in this book are collected from a variety of sources - most have been given as talks to various gatherings. They've been edited to help make them 'hang together' better in a book, but this doesn't altogether work.

Some of the essays are great; insightful, erudite and engaging. Some are far too short - cut off just as they start to get interesting. Overall, I wanted more. But some, although providing really interesting analyses, finally fail because, as Hobsbawm admits, he simply cannot understand the (quote) 'crazies' currently occupying the White House. Hobsbawm sees the ebb and flow of history, the changing currents, the rise and fall of empires and, to him, the current US position is simply nuts, showing no historical/geopolitical awareness at all - and so he gives up. He simply shrugs and stops. And that is the most frustrating aspect of this book.

In the end, I was left wanting more. It is a short book anyway. I'm now reading Naomi Klein's new book. It is interesting to come from Hobsbawm's rather Olympian stance to Klein's detailed and committed polemic. They work well together.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008
There is nothing wrong with a historian cashing in on a remarkable career and a powerful brand with a collection of lectures - provided he is up front and honest about it. In his introduction Hobsbawm makes it clear that he is presenting the (updated) texts from lectures and there may therefore be some overlap and repetition. When dipped into, as you would sit in on an hour's lecture, the book therefore provides an excellent introduction to some of Hobsbawm's views on the contemporary world.

Some of the chapters are better than others but there is no escaping his central message on American hegemony and we are treated to morsels of some of his more controversial thoughts on democracy. It is true that to be truly appreciated both of these need greater explanation, but there are 40 year's of his writing to choose from if you want to learn more.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
The content of the book is as good as expected, but the publication is very poor.
Also the fact that the delivery was delayed (came after 3,5 weeks and after contacting twice the sender) demotivated me from buying more books in general from Amazon.
I know that for the most part it's the post's fault, but it's still a negative factor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
Hobsbawm writes lucidly about the American Empire; how it is inextricably linked to globalisation and of course the backlash of terrorism. The book undermines the (neo)- liberal belief that democracies and free markets go hand on hand, indeed one of its contentions is that Western democracy are not working and haven't done for some time, despite being the paradigm of the free market system. The book is, if I remember rightly, split into different speeches and essays that were written over the last few years and complied over the last few years so is quite readable. Saying that it would be of help to an IR or political philosophy student as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
I have 3 of Hobsbawm books and all are about 3 times the size of this one. This was a fascinating analysis of the Issues in the title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Another incisive observation from a great British philosopher and author who is sadly no longer with us.
Thank you seller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
It presented a broader view on what is happening in the world and the power of deception, money and corruption
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
I didn't know when i bought it that the book it's a collection of recent essays about the argument, a thing that doesn't allowed to treat it deaply. Anyway, Hobsbawm it's always a rewardable reading.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)