Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2010
I have recently returned from a holiday touring South Africa, during which I read both volumes of A Long Walk to Freedom. The two books provided a fascinating insight into the political background of a country which is still struggling to build a future that fully integrates all its people, and does not fall into the pitfalls tragically enacted in neighbouring Zimbabwe. Nelson Mandela tells his story from his early life in a traditional tribal culture to his involvement in the Freedom Movement and the growth of the ANC, the conflicts among similar organisations also striving for justice but with different emphases, and the apparent inability of the white authorities to understand or even listen to any opinion but their own and their increasingly harsh methods of imposing their power. He tells of his reluctant acceptance of the need for limited use of violent means to draw world attention to the situation in the country he loves after many years of belief in non-violence, while understating his own dedication and commitment to the cause which robbed him of his family life for decades. He does not reveal much about his personal relationships with his family except to make clear his pride and love for his wife Winnie and his children. Although there are signs of improvement in the conditions of many black South Africans, one cannot help being aware of a large black underclass and the fear of crime apparent among the white population. It is so sad that by the time Mandela was released from captivity he did not have enough time left in power to realise his dream of a truly united South Africa.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
really love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2005
One of the few true heroes of the twentieth century tells his story. Mandela's openness and humility shines through this book, as well as his love for his country, willingness to sacrifice and refusal to alienate the opposition.
This book is surprisingly easy to read. The chapters are short, and there is a real feeling that you are "seeing it through Mandela's eyes". I can recommend the 2 volume edition as it less daunting and it is natural to take a break where vol. 1 ends in the early '60s. Plus, it encourages the reader to consider Mandela's early years and not just to rush on to the final victory over apartheid in volume 2.
This book should be compulsory reading for politicians, who need to ask themselves what they would have done in Mandela's shoes, and if they themselves (along with the rest of us) are so open and humble about their mistakes.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
An inspirational piece of work of an extraordinary man from a less than ordinary background...

The true evil of apartheid unveiled and outlined by a man who saw it all, and fought it with all he had!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
This book is the story of a freedom fighter, from his childhood till his mid forties. It shows that the person is not born as a freedom fighter, it is his life, the environment he lives in, and the oppression he goes through which contribute to shape his life as a fighter. This book also shows that freedom may require the use of many tactics to be gained. Sometimes, non violence by itself does not work others it is the only way to freedom. The experience of Mandella can be applied in similar contexts today. For sure, it needs customization to the situation and the enemy, it needs further study, but in general many lessons learnt and success tactics can be applied to countries where oppression is widespread.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Please do not be put of by the though naw its
All politics yes of course it has politics but
This book is about the struggle of many
Thousands of south africans fight for freedom
From the oppressive conditions that they had endured
I remember being taught about s.africa, mainly
There import/export. Nothing about
The struggle from there apartheid
I bougth the second book start to read it
Then put it down as I felt that I had to read this
Part one again. This should be applied to the syllabus
in schools maybe it is but if not it
Should be. We are taught"LEST WE
FORGET" this book in my opinion
Is in the same league. K.Hamilton-picken
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
I bought this as a birthday present and I am so pleased. The book was nicely packaged and received in perfect condition with no damage. Great service, great price and fast delivery. Would recommend, thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
I grew up either word apartheid, I grew up hearing about the man that is Mandela. To my shame I now know exactly what gave rise to this legend of my life time. How did this ever happen?
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
A Heartbreaking, eloquent, inspiring, gut wrenching read, from a true hero, words can't cone close to how moved and privileged I feel to have read this book. Mr Mandela I salute you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I was not sure if I could get in to this book
Omg I was wrong,
after reading this book, I wish I could of meet the great man in real
that will never happen,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)