Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
26
4.2 out of 5 stars
The Prophet Muhammad: A Biography
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 June 2017
Happy with the purchase - promptly delivered. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
a very interesting book about a great person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
I find it incredibly bizarre how few good, simple, well-written, easy-to-read biographies there are of the Prophet Muhammad in the English language. Martin Lings' biography is oft-cited by Muslims as the one to read but, truth be told, it doesn't read like a novel. A bit too scholarly - dry, overly detailed - I found it to be. In terms of language and readability, this one by Barnaby Rogerson is the best I have read so far. Not entirely brilliant but within it is a decent biography of the Prophet Muhammad. I recommend skipping - or skimming over - the second and third chapters on your first read as a lot of it is just boring, bloated, unnecessary history and geography about the old Arabia. The fourth chapter is where the biography really takes off. Sure the book is littered throughout with some strange claims but if you can get past that - and in the absence of other, better, biographies of the Prophet Muhammad in the English language - this is one of the easiest to read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2006
The life of the Prophet Muhammad has always polarized opinion in the West. After 9/11 and 7/7 it has become increasingly difficult to find balanced accounts of Islam and its founder. Having read Robert Spencer's "The Truth About Muhammad", which was relentlessly hostile, I was looking for something rather more sympathetic about Muhammad's life. I found it in Barnaby Rogerson's book.

Rogerson is an excellent storyteller, a professional, in fact. In the preface, Rogerson tells how, when taking Western tourists around Roman sites in a Muslim country, he heard groups of men sitting around in cafes telling tales from the days of the Prophet as if they were fresh and new. "I was on the side of a good story," says Rogerson. "The life of the Prophet Muhammad is a story of overpowering pathos and beauty. It is history, tragedy and enlightenment compressed into one tale." And that's how Rogerson tells it.

He has the knack of taking the reader into the picture, of conjuring up the sights and sounds and smells of Arabia in the days of Muhammad. And he gives us a sense of the struggles that Muhammad and his early followers went through, of the Prophet's family, and of the harsh life of the Arabs in the desert. He tells it in the end as a tale of triumph over challenge, but never implies that victory was a foregone conclusion.

But - and it is a big but - I was conscious throughout that Rogerson had omitted much of the very difficult episodes of Muhammad's apparent cruelty that Spencer includes in his book. In fact, my first reaction to Rogerson's book was that he was a Romantic, that he had to some extent sentimentalized Muhammad's story and had evaded these difficult episodes. The problem with writing a biography of Muhammad that is accessible and readable for the non-scholarly Western, non-Muslim reader (which is what I am) is that the writer must inevitably abbreviate the story and cannot really acknowledge the difficulties that a historian would have with the very limited primary sources for the life of Muhammad.

This is not to say that Rogerson avoids reference to sources. In fact, he has included a useful note on sources, as well as a timeline, maps, profiles of the main characters in the story, and a glossary of the 99 Names of God. But the main issue, as with all historical material, is one of interpretation. What do the various episodes mean? What frame of reference do we wish to put on the story of Muhammad? Spencer starts with harshly negative assumptions and sets out to prove what he already believes about Muhammad. Rogerson, on the other hand, starts with positive assumptions and sets out to show the beauty and majesty of Muhammad's life.

I have to admit I was repelled by Spencer and beguiled by Rogerson. Beguiled, but always a tad suspicious that he was carried away with the story and not conscious enough of where there could be difficulties and different views of what he was asserting about Muhammad. Somehow, I heard the echoes of Fitzgerald's translations of the Rubaiyyat of Omar Khayyam in Rogerson's voice.

Never mind, I shall now read Rogerson's "The Heirs of the Prophet Muhammad" and move on to the next part of the story of Islam. It is essential that we understand Islam's history and try to avoid the hatred and prejudice that so many in the West accept as the "proper" reaction to Islam. However, we must also acknowledge that extremist voices have captured the attention of the media and, indeed, of the Muslim community. It is my belief that any form of religious extremism is, as Baha'u'llah, Founder of the Baha'i Faith says, "a world-devouring fire".
1515 Comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
The only accurate biography about Muhammad and his followers is the very first text by Ibn Ishaq, his Sirat Rasul Allah, which is translated in English as The Life of Muhammad by Guillaume. Ishaq's original was censored by Ibn Hisham, but Tabari used Ishaq's original text for his own History.
Read them both, as well as the relevant hadith by Bukhari and Muslim.
Guillaume made the fatal mistake of using the title God for Allah. Allah is not Almighty God.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2007
This exceptionally well written book tells of the divide between the Sunnis and the Shias in Islam. It takes side with neither camp (and though I found it to be slightly pro-Shia) it tries to give an objective account of what happened after the death of the Prophet. It talks reverently about all sides and where possible displays the argument from a variety of angles. Unlike most Islamic books the prose is majestic and is a reason in itself to read the book. It contains a wealth of knowledge and though written with non-Muslims in mind, I learnt an incredible amount even though I've been a Muslim my whole life (admittedly not the best of Muslims but a Muslim nonetheless). Heartily recommended.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
A splendid book, rich in language and historical content. A thorough reading would do much to promote
world peace and a true understanding of Islam.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
I wanted to get away from the bias and prejudice of the press and find a balanced account of where Islam comes from and what it is about. Barnaby Rogerson is a great story-teller and brings the story of Muhammad vividly to life. This is a must read for non-muslims who want to know more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book. As a Muslim it was nice to read an account of the life of the prophet PBUH by a none Muslim author. The author has based most of the narration on logic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
The author have given this delicate subject a neutral and sympathetic bit comprehensive coverage. His examination of the Umayyad dynasty is particularly helpful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse