Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
52
4.3 out of 5 stars
Boiling A Frog (Jack Parlabane)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 November 2000
Having bought,enjoyed and passed all his books on like an evangelist, I have waited what seems like years for the paperback edtion of Boiling a Frog. To say that I was disappointed is an understatement,because whilst being a fully paid up aetheist, this book just seemed to be a rant about the catholics with a bit of politics thrown in for good measure. Nowhere near as funny as One Fine Day..and just a bit too serious for my tastes. Have to wait for the next one now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2000
Not for the faint hearted or weak bladdered; Boiling a Frog is the latest in a line of excellent novels from Chris Brookmyre, ex movie journalist and St. Mirren supporter. Jack Parlabane has been up to his tricks again, only with Parlabane those tricks are kept under his jumper rather than up his sleeve. Chastised by the Scottish leagal system we catch up with him during his first interaction with another of those persons detained at Her Majisty's pleasure, The Sweariad soon ensues. There are passages in BaF that had me doubled up with laughter and this is a wonderfully common trait in Brookmyres' work. Urinary incontinance is not normally a problem I have but I was laughing so hard at times that it started to loom ever nearer on the horizon. Take Billy Connolly and combine hime with Ian Rankin and you might be lucky to get work of the same calibre. Brookmyres description of Scottish life and Scottish politics is spot on, many people have already drawn parallels with the Section 28 debachle and the plot of the book.I can't wait until "A Big Boy Did It And Ran Away" is published as it's sure to be thought provoking, offensive and riotously funny in equal measures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2004
I'm a big fan of Brookmyre and yet again, he pulls it off with an inspired read.
A dark satirical look at modern day Scotland and, although the plot may seem far-fetched at first, in actual fact its worryingly believable!
I did find it quite slow to start with but it was well worth persevering with it as the pace soon picked up and the story had me on the edge of my seat! In fact, by the end, I simply couldn't put it down!
Although this is admittedly not Brookymyre's best novel, it is a cracking read all the same and wholeheartedly recommended!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2000
I have now read each of Christopher Brookmyre's 5 books, and have bought the last 3 as soon as they have been published. It really pains me to say this, but Boiling a Frog is not the best of the five by any means. It is without doubt a really good book, but does not keep your attention in the same way as most of the others have. What really irritated me was the way the book has a kind of 300 page introduction, most of which is setting the scene and jumping between time frames. I got so bored waiting for the action to begin that the book was nearly over by the time I had reached that point. Thankfully, Boiling a Frog has everyone's favourite journalistic hack in it, but Parlabane is relegated to a minor role in the first three-quarters of the book. Again, by the time the story centres on him and his antics, there is really nothing left to do but swing in and save the day. I'm a huge Christopher Brookmyre fan and have absolutely loved the last four books, but this one left me quite bored by the end. The character definition and devious plot are as well-crafted as ever, but the book never really gets going. A shame really. Still, go read all the others as they are excellent and should all be made into movies.....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2000
The phase 'unputdownable' is often used books reviews, but Christopher Brookmyre's novels are amongst the few I have read that truly deserve this tag and 'Boiling a Frog' is no exception.
The political backdrop of the novel realistically captures the zeitgeist in Britain today which makes the subsequent high action drama chillingly believeable.
The main achievements of 'Boiling a Frog' is that it manages to be strongly political, but still infused with a biting humour, and is essentially an action thriller, yet is never trivial which are dangers lesser writer than Brookmyre could easily have fallen into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2000
As someone who discovered Brookmyre entirely by accident last year I am thrilled by his ability to cram so much into sometimes unfortunately short novels. Or maybe they just seem short. 'Boiling a frog' starts superbly and carrys on from there. As a scot who thought he understood most Glasgae slang i was forced to a rethink. Not quite as funny as his others( a fair bit darker i thought) but still a must read, when you can quite happily sit in public and laugh out loud to the bemusement of passersby you know you've found a gem. Cheers for hours of laughs. Keep 'em comin'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
Well, that's me through all 5 books in 2 weeks. I was given the first one as a xmas pressie, and it sat on the shelf for 9 months before I found something I hadn't read yet. Tell everyone to read them all. These are simply the funniest/darkest/most enthralling books I've read in a long time. When's number six coming Chris?
p.s. if you're in any way delicate about blood, gore and religion, then read Peter Rabbit. This series is possibly not for you...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2000
Christopher Brookmyre writes scabrously funny books and this is no exception. This is not his best work but it's damn close. In attacking the fake morality of the Scottish (and British) establishment along with deep digs at organised religion and the accompanying Scottish sectarianism, Brookmyre once again manages to create a dark humour which Bill Hicks would be proud of and Carl Hiassen, the previous master of this genre, must envy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
Discribed as used very good.
Disapointed
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2000
Another side splitter from Brookmyre in which he attacks the spin culture of modern politics and the futile struggle to remain true to any religious principles whilst operating in this arena.
Great trademark one liners from the outset and although its not as fast paced as Country of the Blind, you will still be most pleased you picked it up - in the words of Jack Parlabane; 'I nearly pished myself laughing...'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse