Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 March 2018
Written as though King himself had chosen every word, this gives much needed insight into key phases of King's life, the Civil Rights struggle and his tremendous speeches. My greater understanding of the issues are thanks to this book. King's eloquence inhabits every word, extracting through vivid imagery, emotional responses. King was a great man who accomplished great things. This book is a fitting testimony.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
A perfect balance between subject and author. Martin Luther King Jr., has several books to his name. I am currently reading two.of his books: The Autobiography * and A Knock at Midnight a selection of 10 of his sermons. He.was assistant Baptist minister under his own father, a human rights leader and described as non-violence and a peaceful demonstrated. Man of the Year and Nobel Prize laureate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2014
Interesting to see the upper middle class background he comes from, but also how many people suffered tremendously during the civil rights fight. A superbly compiled account that reads as if MLK had done it himself (effectively it is his own words). Some bits drag, but on the whole it enlightened me regarding the practicalities of passive resistance and direct action, and I shed the odd tear whilst reading it. A classic book which is a must read for anyone interested in the civil rights movement or civil rights in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2014
I have read and followed the whole question of the emancipation of slavery and the civil rights movement. Martin Luther King was a huge figure in the civil rights movement that struck a chord in the hearts of both the back and white of America and the world as a whole. His speeches were second to none for raising the hopes of many. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2017
I have read a lot of autobiographies and was quite disappointed by the proegression of this one, nonetheless it is not the most awful one I've read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2014
Truly a hero of mankind. Mr King was an eloquent and courageous man who 'fought' the evil of segregation in a non violent but effective way.
This book shows him to be a man of peace who wanted every person irrespective of race or creed to be treated equally and with respect and for man to live together in harmony. Yes perhaps a dream but one we should all aspire to.
Every school in the world should make his story part of their history curriculum.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2017
Clean copy, arrived on time.Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2017
interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
A great book. I especially like how I was able to read into happenings of the movement, as well as into the life of Martin himself at the time. The way it has been written is fantastic & clear to follow. I've found this most informative in comparison to the documentaries I've seen before. Anyone can benefit from reading this, definitely lower class teenagers of today. At one particular point I broke down in tears, shaking after being hit with the biggest inspiration I've ever had from words. Reading this has truly been a life changing experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
It is a great work that is put together from the papers and tape of the great man of wisdom, a life that is cut short
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)