Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 6 May 2016
A thoroughly researched and excellently written work which makes easy reading for such a complex issue. To be recommended for anyone wishing to understand the change in nature of warfare and conflict from late 19th century which lead to the dissatisfaction in the Balkans culminating in the events which triggered the First World War. Deals excellently with the individual personalities and the political conflicts and background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
I wanted to know more about the Crimea War and thought I'd try this one. I'm glad I did. It covers all the aspects, from the origins of the war to its prosecution and the aftermath. Along the way, we get the military history, plus the diplomatic manoeuvrings behind the scenes, as discontent rises with the whole affair and its conduct. Of course, I've nothing with which to compare it, but it seems to do the job admirably.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
I thought this book was brilliant. Easy reading for anyone who wants to know about the subject. Only thing missing was some decent maps of the locations. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2016
Exceptionally Thorough with so many aspects covered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
The author pulls no punches when it comes to the the total farce of the commanders in this total and avoidable waste of rank and file soldiers. In fact the whole officer class of this period seems more concerned with what to wear for dinner than applying themselves to the best practices of warfare in this period. The resultant waste of life bothers them not one bit. It also shows that the British were a small part of the overall Crimea multinational force set against Russia and it showed in their sometimes double dealing with the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
just read this book it has a lot off good points, it goes into enough detail so that you can get a feel for the subject .and makes you wonder how the british army ever won anything with leader ship like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
GREAT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)