Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 July 2017
When Barbara Tuchman writes about a subject, she really delves deeply. I skimmed through this at first and then settled down to read each chapter. Absolutely brilliant. This is a book I'll read again and again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2015
A fascinating study of an horrendous century and the wicked idiocy of the medieval mind and the role of the church and twisted ideas of chivalry. A real page turner too!
This book might change your views about the benefits of having noble antecedents!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2016
I was delighted to receive this book as a replacement for one I had loved for about 30 years. It gives an excellent view of the Middle Ages and, I believe should be required reading for all students. Barbara Tuchman is a great story teller who combines fact and fiction without condescension and compromising good writing. It is a modern classic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
Read this years ago, still love it. Tuchman always qualifies every sweeping statement with an opposite example. This historical scepticism , mixed with considerable knowledge, provides the reader with a very believable and credible history of the 14th century.
Excellent , sceptical history, worthy of David Hume himself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2015
Somwhat more of a polemic than pure history, but, as usual from Barbara Tuchman, very well worth reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2016
Read it as a young adult. Fascinating , engaging and everything political and economic history at school was NOT! Absolutely loved it and it has encouraged me to read much more history since. I will reread with pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
Sad to have read this book 35years after. Stood review of the folly of man. I struggle to identify areas since 1983 where the same principle applies but am sure that there are many.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2017
Exhaustive, comprehensive and utterly believable account of psychological processes in the pursuit of power for the good of others. It would be folly indeed not make it mandatory reading for those who purport to be our elders and betters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2013
Needed hard concentration but had to keep on to the end. Fascinating history and an "eye opener" on the lives of the people of that time. Even when whole populations were being wiped out by the plague the survivors were still forced into fighting in the wars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2017
PhD History student girlfriend loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)