Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2017
Bought as a present and absolutely adored by the recipient. I was a little skeptical due to some of the negative reviews but bought it anyway. I was told that it's style was still very Bryson but a good example of a writer finding his feet without it being chaotic or unsure. I was told it was warm and funny and expressed a great love for its subject through its humour even if it lamented what was lost.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
OH dear, Bill Bryson has written some terrific books , but this isn't one of them. He describes a succession of awful dead end towns in America, each one more boring and dead-end than the last in ever more negative prose. I imagine he was as glad to come to the end of his voyage as most readers were to come to the end of the book. Even a writer famed for being laugh out loud funny can produce a turkey sometimes it seems.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
This was a replacement copy for a tattered edition as I love this novel so much. It's maybe Bill Bryson's funniest, and great fun if you have travelled in the US in the past.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Prompt delivery. Excellent condition, wonderful read. Thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
VG as promised.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
Made me laugh anyway - but I am a Bill Bryson fan. Hope theres more to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
As usual he describes what you already know better than you could. Essential reading. The desire to love a failed ideal is palpable
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Avery good read ,and very amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
An enjoyable BB book, full of information relayed in an easy to read manner. Put it down for a week, pick it up again, and it doesn't feel as though you've been away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)