Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 October 2017
I liked the book for its sheer force of will. It's unscathing look at relationships, particularly that of Cheryl and her mother, and with her ex husband. In juxtaposing these relationships with that of the landscape. The brute beauty of the wilderness. Cheryl slowly freeing herself of her demons along her walk to the Bridge of the Gods. I would highly rate this book. Cheryl was a novice hiker but now an accomplished writer. I would recommend to anyone of any age or background, simply because it is a story of being free, of letting go of the trappings of modern life and convenience. It is about going back to basics, of finding oneself but not in a saccharine way, rather like peeling an onion to expose different raw layers, but at the heart is understanding and meaning, just like the fish beneath the surface of the Columbia River. Enjoy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
That's a great honest book, it feels real from the first page. It helps to understand what is it in this kind of experiences that makes people come to terms with themselves. For me - better than the film, but the film is good as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Excellent read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Had seen the movie years ago, and very much enjoyed reading the book now. Well written, entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2017
Although in the answers to the letters Cheryl always brings stories from her life she manages that way to bring a fresh and really good perspective on the issues. And those are the issues that we go through in our lives as well. I enjoyed reading the book a lot, for giving me that new perspective on different things happening in my life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Great read. Interesting and insightful. Much better than the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Cheryl's candour is remarkable. Her story is both enriching and entertaining, that it is also true places this read on my top shelf. Well done good lady.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
A very open and honest journal of a hard but determined long distance hike on the PCT. When reading you very much feel that you are sharing the journey along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
This is both an autobiography and a personal account of a mammoth hike the length of America. I found it both compelling and moving. Cheryl Stayed is remarkably candid and honest in her disclosures. I strongly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
I really enjoyed this one. Great film and a great book. Also check out [ASIN:B0191ODNJK When evil calls your name.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)