Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2017
If you haven't read an Odd book yet you are missing a treat. You will never look at the world quite the same again. Be prepared to be afraid and comforted at the same time. Simply magucal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
Thank you for the book it arrived as stated, and just as I finished my other odd book of the series, (now I've finished it) a great read and in good condition too. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
What else can i say , if you like Dean Koontz and Odd then it is a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
After Odd Thomas 1 and 2, third third in the series makes me want to read more of Odd's adventures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
This is the third book in the 'Odd Thomas' series by Dean Koontz and although not as good as the previous two books in the series, it does keep you interested. This time around Odd has left his home of Pico Mundo to find peace and solace in St Bartholomew's monastery in the High Sierra on the California side of the border. Odd finds some peace and solace until a bodach shows up (a Scottish Gaelic term for 'old man' and a mythical spirit or creature, rather like the bogeyman), Odd knows they are not actually bodachs but it is a word he uses after learning it from a friend who also saw the living dead like Odd.

As always Odd has the company of the spirit of Elvis and a spirit dog called 'Boo' who he meets at the monastery, Odd finds himself again facing things that are difficult to understand but Odd does what he can.

I enjoyed 'Brother Odd', I found the premise of the monastery particularly interesting, there was something calming reading about the nuns and brothers of the monastery and the good work they did, plus the isolation of the monastery read well, you could feel the isolation, at times, I did think, 'how will they get away'. The downside of the book was that it wavered slightly at certain parts, it was readable but under duress readable but it did not put me off the book, and it was a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 January 2007
This is the third book in the Odd Thomas series.The first was Odd Thomas and the second book was Forever Odd.If you haven't read the previous books, it is worth reading them, though not absolutely imperative.

If you have read the reviews by other people of the previous 2 books, then you get a feel of readers' disappointment with this series, and a lot of the comments made are valid i.e. the lead character is not as engaging as Christopher Snow from Fear Nothing and Seize the night, and there is too little action in the books.I personally disliked the second book intensely - it was overlong,over descriptive and not engaging enough, and i wasn't really that eager to buy this book.However, i did and here are my views on it........

This is much better than the first two books (thankfully) and well worth a read.I really enjoyed the setting of the novel - an isolated, snowbound monastery.I also enjoyed the characters that Odd deals with - nuns, and monks with interesting pasts, and quirks of character.The book has a bit of mystery to it - who is causing all the strange events surrounding the monastery, what is the reason behind a murder, and why is the belltower haunted too?

I don't want to spoil the plot, or give anything away, but i will say this is pacier than the previous books.It gripped me much quicker, and i kept reading this until the end.The descriptions are much shorter and punchier.The plot is better too.

So all in all, a very good Koontz book BUT a long way from his best in my opinion.His earlier books are still his best, and i am still desperate for another Christopher Snow book.Brother Odd is the best Koontz book for a while though, and definitely the best in the series.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 March 2007
Brother Odd is the third book in Koontz's series, which started with the excellent Odd Thomas, and it is the weakest yet. There are some good touches (I liked the snowbound monastery and found the monstrous apparitions intriguing) but the novel is let down by a poor plot, has an unsatisfactory resolution and on occasion Koontz's trademark humour gets in the way. There is also some rather heavy-handed moralising, which seems out of character for Odd. A shame really, as the premise underlying these stories is a good one. I hope the fourth book will mark a return to form.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 February 2007
Brother Odd is a very good adition to the Odd Thomas series - better than Forever Odd and just about on level with Odd Thomas.

At first I was a bit dissapointed at this new installment of the series as it was quite slowly paced but after a hundered pages or so it picks up and by 150-200 pages it is very addictive and suspencefull, plus, of course, it features Odd Thomas, a Koontz charactor we have all come to know and love. These things combine to make the perfect mix for another Dean Koontz masterpeice - and once again the auther delivers as promised.

The book takes place a few months after Forever Odd left off. Odd is now in the monastery (mentioned in the blurb and in the ending of Forever Odd) living with the nuns and monks (even though they are monks and nuns they still have good senses of humour and the sparkling personality's of a true Dean Koontz charactor) and a dog named Boo. Plus, of course, the ghost of Elvis Presely. But as usual he must use his "gift" - along with his loveable sence of humour - to solve the mysteries of the death of a monk as well as strange seemingly supernatural creature around the monastery.

Brother Odd combines mystery and chilling suspence with laugh-out-loud humour. I would highly recomend this book to anybody (unless they have not read Odd Thomas and Forever Odd in which case please do) especially if they are a fan of Dean Koontz or of the previous two books in the series.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2008
Odd indeed--the entire series from Koontz. If you're new to this author, he's written a series of books dealing with this character, ODD THOMAS. The first book was simply "Odd Thomas," followed by "Forever Odd."

Now, this one, "Brother Odd," is a faster paced book than the first two, and those pretty well flew. The first two were simply fantastic in my opinion, though I did read them a while ago. It's no wonder Koontz stays on the bestseller lists with his accessible but literary works, and ODD THOMAS is the perfect book, touching the heart and making you laugh at the same time.

The setting of this latest Koontz page-turner is a snowbound monestary, reminding me a little of "The Shining" though the edge and material given the situation is handled with more sophistication and elegance. Yet at the same time Koontz gives us a gritty piece of fiction, not shying away from situations that might be ruined the hands of other authors.

As usual, there's a parade of other "Odd" characters in this books, and while it fits into the series well, it can still be read by itself without the background of the first two books. I liked this book almost as much as two others I recently came across, "The Charming Man" and "Barring Some Unforeseen Accident," both of which were EXTREMELY entertaining, the first being more romance oriented and the second being a sort of mystery.

For those who haven't read any Koontz, feel free to dive right in--you don't have to read these books in a series and they're all entertaining. Cheers!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 July 2007
Brother Odd is a very good adition to the Odd Thomas series - better than Forever Odd and just about on level with Odd Thomas.

At first I was a bit dissapointed at this new installment of the series as it was quite slowly paced but after a hundered pages or so it picks up and by 150-200 pages it is very addictive and suspencefull, plus, of course, it features Odd Thomas, a Koontz charactor we have all come to know and love. These things combine to make the perfect mix for another Dean Koontz masterpeice - and once again the auther delivers as promised.

The book takes place a few months after Forever Odd left off. Odd is now in the monastery (mentioned in the blurb and in the ending of Forever Odd) living with the nuns and monks (even though they are monks and nuns they still have good senses of humour and the sparkling personality's of a true Dean Koontz charactor) and a dog named Boo. Plus, of course, the ghost of Elvis Presely. But as usual he must use his "gift" - along with his loveable sence of humour - to solve the mysteries of the death of a monk as well as strange seemingly supernatural creature around the monastery.

Brother Odd combines mystery and chilling suspence with laugh-out-loud humour. I would highly recomend this book to anybody (unless they have not read Odd Thomas and Forever Odd in which case please do) especially if they are a fan of Dean Koontz or of the previous two books in the series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse