Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
1,828
4.4 out of 5 stars
Moon Over Soho
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


on 7 August 2017
Another wonderful outing for police officer with a difference Peter Grant. Peter is a trainee wizard in a very select, special department of the police. Vampires, magic, crime and fabulous humour are mixed with skill, and the result is a brilliant tale that you will not want to put down. It is NOT Harry Potter for adults, but it is a tale of magic and skullduggery. Written with such skill that you really start to think that it may be possible. Jazz musicians are dying, ladies who look exactly the same now as they did in the nineteen forties, magic and mayhem. Try this book, you will not regret it. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Very good, funny and original book - you are unlikely to come across a similar story line and premise - and it is the foundation for a great series of stories

Characters very good, strong on humour and potentially the most unusual story line for a first book around. I felt the ending was less fulfulling than the rest of the book but after such a roller coaster and laugh out loud minutes I can cope with that. Thought it good enough to re-read and that doesn't happen with many books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2012
The Rivers of London is a wonderful combination of an absorbing crime novel with fantasy elements. Peter Grant is a probationary Police Officer who is guarding a police cordon one night when he is approached by a witness who also happens to be a ghost. The story develops as Peter joins a specialist unit of the Met which deals in supernatural and magical crimes (so specialist that there is only one other Officer in it) as an apprentice wizard. As people continue to be murdered in the West End so Peter must develop his new skills in order to catch and stop the killer.

As a lover of Christopher Fowler, I'm really thrilled to have found this series of books. I'm not a lover of books which might be considered as belonging to the more traditional fantasy genre, but this is just the right blend of the unusual and the realistic. Throw in some great descriptions of London (I felt like I was practically walking and driving round the streets with the characters) and this is a real treat. The only slight criticisms that I'd make are that there are a number of loose ends left at the end but I'm sure this will be cleared up by the continuation of the series.

Highly recommended (especially if you don't think Christopher Fowler writes quickly enough!)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Really enjoying this series - have read all published to date. Yes, there can be a lot of detail about specific topics in each book - in this case jazz but generally I find that interesting, as long as it also helps deepen the story and move things forward. The one thing that does jar with me is the apparent need to state the colour / race of each character. Again, if it's needed for the storyline then fine but otherwise it is rather annoying and pointless. Overall though a high quality series to date and am looking forward to the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 March 2012
This is the second book in the urban fantasy series involving PC Peter Grant, Apprentice Wizard in the London Metropolitan Police. (Rivers of London is the first in the series and it might be worth reading that first, if you haven't already.)

Peter becomes involved in a case following the mysterious death of jazz musicians in Soho. The book goes into some detail about jazz music and musicians, which might explain why I didn't enjoy it as much as The Rivers of London. I'm afraid jazz just isn't my thing! Having said that the book is still enjoyable and there were moments of genuine suspense and horror; which, when combined with the comedy of the book, makes for an unusual and entertaining mix. Peter also has a `love interest' in this book which also detracted from the main thrust of the plot and the sex scenes seemed a bit incongruous.

Having said all that, the originality of this series in really refreshing. As with the first book, there are questions left unanswered which presumably will be picked up in the next book in the series which I am looking forward to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
This came up as an amazon recommendation cos of my reading history. Slightly annoyed that they got it bang on the money! I quite enjoyed it. Engaging lead characters. Good sense of mystery and bewilderment as protagonist gets to grips with magical nature. Good supporting cast of characters, some of them historically based. An imaginative retake on the sprawling metropolis of London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
As a first in a series it's a very good start! I fully admit to bias on this as it's set in and around where I grew up.
This is well written and the characters have room to grow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2017
After reading Rivers of London, and being absolutely gripped the whole way through, I had to continue with the series. Ben Aaronovitch is an outstanding writer. I love the way the main character Peter sometimes narrates post event, and then divulges in greater detail, giving you reassurance that certain characters are o.k., but without giving anything away, in terms of the plot. Ben Aaronovitch's knowledge of London and detailed descriptive writing is mesmerising. These books are a seriously fantastic read full of humour, sarcasm, mystery, magic, and heart pounding action. With reckless police antics, creatures from all walks of fictional life, and marvellous wizardry. Aaronovitch clearly is a master of imagination and you will be hooked from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
I loved the writing style. There was so much originality and wit that I felt like I smiled may way through the the whole book. Will definitely buy the next in the series. Thank you Ben!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
I struggled. Perhaps it's good, but I couldn't get interested. 3 stars is generous but maybe it's me. Back to Dorothy S.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse