Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
39
3.5 out of 5 stars
Red Harvest (Star Wars (Del Rey))
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 14 April 2012
THE STORY:
Sith Lord Darth Scabrous has discovered an ancient Sith secret which he believes will allow him to live forever but which instead unleashes a plague of ravenous undeath on the students of a Sith Academy.

WHAT'S GOOD:
The character of Jedi Knight Rojo Trace makes for an enjoyable counter point to the lesser characters in the book, being a pragmatic and single-minded Jedi the likes of which we don't see too often. I also enjoyed the concept that the zombie plague is a result of a Sith attempt at immortality.

WHAT'S BAD:
This book is something of a prequel to 'Death Troopers' but doesn't stand up well in comparison to that book. Where 'Death Troopers' focused on a small group of likeable survivors aboard an atmospherically claustrophobic derelict spaceship, here we're introduced to a much wider cast of characters, each one less well conceived and less believable than the last, all milling about in the snow. Also, there's only so many dozen times you can read about someone gorily battling slavering zombies before getting bitten and then turning into a slavering zombie before the whole thing gets irritatingly repetitive. Throw in elements such as an unintimidating Sith Lord whose Darth name is only out-ridiculoused by the discovery that he's following the teachings of one 'Darth Drear', a Jedi apprentice who's wetter than a kipper and, of all things, a psychic flower and you have a recipe for disaster. Even this book's best element, the hardcore Jedi Knight Rojo Trace, is ruined by the fact that the author shamelessly and inexplicably lifts dialogue for him verbatim from the movie 'Taken'.

OVERALL:
Put simply, trash.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
No fault of the author - I'm working my way through all of the EU books and didn't expect a zombie horror
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Good story, well written and quite graphic but very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
I would just like to say I hate horror stories and the genre in general so they might have coloured my review. I want to give these book 1 1/2 stars, but they do not allow half stars so rounded up.

This book has the Sith being typical Sith. Their endless quest for self-preservation and eternal life. In doing so the Sith master releases a virus that turns anyone infected into zombies. The Jedi in this book tent to be pretty ineffectual, maybe because it is usually the weaker Jedi who are assigned to the agricultural corps. The main Jedi in this story is an exception supposed extremely powerful, but has dedicated herself to corps rather than becoming Jedi Knight.

The main thing that annoyed me about this book is the Zombies one minute are brutes driven by hunger and nothing else then on occasions are a close knit hive mind, and in some cases allow people to keep their individual personalities. The rate of the infection is also inconsistent some time a person is infected and instantly changed, and then others go hours or days before they are changed.

I also noticed the line from Taken, have to be honest that was my favourite part of the book. The action was pretty rubbish, I was expecting a much better fight put up from the Sith student, and Sith Lords. They used little or no force powers to try and resist the Zombies. Where were all the lightsabers? Even the Blades master was grabbed and eaten within a few moments, the bounty hunter was the only one fighting back and he was using a spear and arrows.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Loved it. Such a fun novel. If you want Luke, chewie etc don't buy this. This is based in the old Republic era and is most definitely part of the expanded universe. Or as I call it, the "REAL" Star Wars canon. I'm not a "New" Disney star wars fan at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
I know the idea of zombies and star wars sounds like it could be good, but thats only because of the 'star wars' part. Zombies are overdone and predicatable. I got this hoping it would suprise me but sadly it did not, the beginning is fantastic because its all very sith and evil, but as soon as the corpses start walking about it just turms into every rubbish zomibie horror ever created: "I know lets hide in this building while they bang on the door outside, what ever shall we do? OH NO Clive got bitten and didn't tell anyone now he's eating Samantha's face in the corner! " Honestly who doesn't see that comming?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 April 2012
To be honest I didn't really end up thinking of this book as a title in the Star War's universe as it had more in common with a fantasy urban horror story than anything in the Star Wars Universe. Yes there were Sith, yes there were Jedi but come on, Zombies?

All in this really was a book that was about survival against the odds, fierce fighting and of course lead by a protagonist set to stop this new evil from infecting the universe. All in pretty standard stuff but nothing that I'd have thought of as coming from the Star Wars Universe and to be honest was a title that whilst different to the norm, really didn't feel that it gelled.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
This book doesn't compare to the works of Drew Karpyshyn, Timothy Zahn or Kevin J Anderson (or several other authors), but Schreiber delivers a bold effort at blending Star Wars and zombie horror - a commendable attempt. Some of the characters in 'Red Harvest' were likeable or at least interesting; Tulkh the Whiphid bounty hunter being one.

I think that this novel attempts to celebrate Darth Scabrous as one of the great Sith, performing feats in parity to those of Darths Plagueis, Bane and Malgus. His success in creating zombies has no real backstory, just leaving the reader to sit and wonder about Scabrous' method, his knowledge, inspirations etc.

Schreiber doesn't make many references, in this novel, to other Star Wars characters, planets or events - leaving the whole novel's events to feel rather inconsequential (for the time being!) and detached from the rest of the galaxy.

Overall, this novel was enjoyable but forgettable, and it can be almost assured that your subsequent Star Wars reads will all but evaporate the memory of this standalone book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
After the rousing success of Death Troopers, I was really looking forward to this. Unfortunately it is one of the worst, most poorly concieved Star Wars novels for years. Dull,thinly drawn characters, villains whose motivations are never fully explained, unoriginal set pieces.
It tries, unsuccessfully to be copy Liam Neeson's seminal action flick Taken, even copying some dialogue from that film word for word, which I was frankly stunned the publisher allowed it to be included.
The action is badly written, especially in regards to any lightsaber combat.
These are stereotypical Sith with familar behaviour and traits, nothing new here whatsoever. You don't care who lives or dies.

In conclusion, this is massive disappointment that totally fails to build on the cleverness of genre splicing exhibited in Death Troopers.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
First thing I'll say if you're considering reading this, if you want to get the most enjoyment out of it, don't expect it to be as good as a lot of the other Star Wars novels and expect it to be a bit cheesey.

I had to force myself to finish it. The dialogue was shocking, the interactions between the students made me feel like I was reading Harry Potter rather than Star Wars, they introduce a plethora of pointless characters, the main hero is useless and seemingly stupid (being blasted at by a turret, she is told to "Run!", her reply is "What?"). The characters are generally bad or corny, a bounty hunter who only speaks or answers when necessary teams up with another character and they suddenly developed a back and forth type comedy dialogue you'd expect to see during a fight scene in Rush Hour 2.

There's plenty more failings in this book, but I'll summarise it with the descriptive sentence he used when describing a characters face...

"It was a long, bony structure of bone."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse