Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2012
The fate of two dogs rests on a battle between the best of humans and the worst of humans. It is a gripping story well told. This book has been in my top three since I first read it many years ago. I leant and lost my copy - thank goodness for Amazon and finding another one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
A really moving and thought provoking read. Richard Adams is amazing and this along with watership down are must reads!! :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Richard Adams is probably best known for Watership Down. This is another of his books which is well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
First read this in my teens many moons ago. An interesting book, and yes the animal experimenters still sit around thinking what experiments they can perform and get away with while claiming to be only interested in saving human lives. One day experiments on animals will be looked back at for the archaic barbaric practice it is, sadly I think not in our life time. Too many vested interests too much money to be made from it & a very gullible general public who still believe experimenting on animals saves human lives just because they believe what those with vested interests tell them.
Humans are not rats, monkeys or dogs. & our closest genetic relative,the chimpanzee,has yielded little or no relevant insight leading to cures for human disease, that is why laboratories in the USA are quietly releasing chimpanzees to sanctuaries. If they were proving useful would they be releasing them ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
This is without doubt, one of my favourite books. Why it hasn't been reprinted I'll never know. If you're thinking of buying this book then get it bought, its a real sad story with a great twist at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Set in Cumbria this book follows the adventures of two dogs on the run from a research station. An exciting read based in a wonderful part of the country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
not a whole lot more to say, really. It's an intriguing book, if a bit anti-animal-testing-propaganda-y. Would recommend, from a literary perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
Loved this book. Really made you feel what the dogs were feeling. Thank you Richard Adams, for saying it for animals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I love this book and the film of it too, Richard Adams is one of my favourite authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2008
This is a difficult read- with thick North English dialect, rambling descriptions of the Lakeland scenery and the incomprehensible viewpoint of the mad Snitter. However, I am only half-way through "The Plague Dogs" and finding it very enjoyable. The characterisation of Rowf, Snitter and the tod (fox) is wonderful. One thing that caught my eye with this book was that the plot is an imaginative variation on the "jail break" theme and that the inhumane treatment of the dogs has uncomfortable paralells in the human world- torture, concentration camps, use of scapegoats etc.
A must-read for animal lovers and anyone who is interested in Animal rights.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.99

Need customer service? Click here