Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
48
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2007
Dragon's Fire is the second collaboration between Anne and Todd - and once again they have produced an engaging and entertaining story. like the previous few novels, Dragon's Fire is a Third Pass story - which is set before the events of Dragonsblood, and is nicely woven around the story of Dragons Kin - starting slightly before that novel, paralleling it in places and continuing on after it.

One of the joys of this book for me is that the primary character is disabled (he cannot talk), and yet he finds a way to work well within the Harper Craft Hall, a craft dedicated to communication of various sorts! Pellar is a well rounded character in this novel, and is given both a chance to grow and change through tragedy, adversity and through shear adventure. He is one of the more interesting characters created by "team McCaffrey" - and one I hope we hear more about in the future. His journey through Dragon's Fire is both touching, and compelling - and well thought out.

The same can be said of the main villain of the story - Tenim who is truly evil, which is a rarity on Pern. Someone who places no value on the life of others - unless they can be of benefit to him. He is willing to risk Pern's safety for his own selfish ends. One of the nice touches about this character is that he seems to have picked up falconry and has a trained bird-of-prey (something that must be a descendant of the birds brought by the original colonists). His shear cold bloodedness is quite chilling. The contrast between him and Pellar makes for interesting reading - especially in the scenes where they are together.

There are plenty of interesting secondary characters as well, from the selfless Halla, to the tragic and misguided Tarik and his son Cristov (both of whom were introduced in Dragon's Kin). Again, Kindan makes the odd appearance in this book, with more being added to his robust character and background.

The way this story is woven around the events of Dragon's Kin is both clever, and intriguing and smacks of plans well laid - which I have no complaint about. The hunt for a new source of firestone, and the reason it is so different from the firestone fans of the Ninth Pass book are familiar with are nicely thought out, and fit very well with what has already been established in the series.

Dragon's Fire is an entertaining story - and one that I read over a few days. The pace and feel of this novel are markedly different from Dragon's Kin, yet still show the McCaffrey style through out. Again, this is a clever story and one that is a very worthy addition to the continuing Pern saga - make sure you have a box of tissues handy when reading it though - you will need them!
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Anyone whose ever thought about buying a fantasy novel must have encountered Anne's Pern series in their time. However as the series has moved into the 21st Century the reins are being handed over to her son, Todd. Here the two collaborate for the second time and the clear distinctions between the old and new blend to bring it to a new generation as well as making the series apply to the "older fan".

Always prolific the writing keeps you glued and is perhaps a little too clinical in the end. Readers will of course enjoy the book with fans devouring it in short time indeed. However I do wonder for how much longer the series can continue and how new ideas will continue to be generated. In a modern world with many new authors tackling Dragon fiction, she remains the author to match or to cross with Dragon Fire battle. Few will draw with her and fewer still will manage to withdraw with anything other than a singed record. Anne's work will remain up there for a good few years more and is still the author to judge this particular subsection genre by, however as a matter of personal preference its not her best, although it is still a gripping novel better than a number of others.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
As with Todd's solo book "Dragon's Blood", this story lacks the depth of character and atmosphere that is so appealing in Anne's earlier books in the Pern saga. If the cover didn't say otherwise, I'd swear that Todd wrote it and Anne's name is there to help sell copies. Oh dear. Very disappointing.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2008
What a disappointment. What looked a really long exciting read is divided into two 'books' The first half, or 'book' retells Dragon's Blood, from another point of view, bringing in a few new characters. The second 'book' continues the story. It limps along so slowly I'm not surprised that the next book is with a different co-writer. A precis would only fill one side of a sheet of A4 there is so little meat there.
I would only buy this if you can get it very cheaply, just so you can keep your collection up to date.

Reader from Hertfordshire
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Another Brilliant dragon book by both the McCaffreys. this one follows the story of the miners towards the end of the interval after the second pass of the red star. A book of competition, betrayal, friendship and working together to mine the coal and firestone that the people of pern need. Kindan, Cristov, Pellar and Halla all work to overcome the betryals of Tarik and Tenim. Another brilliant story of the people, dragons and watchwhers of Pern following on from Dragon's Kin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
I enjoyed this book, but I could put it down, I couldn't put the first books down. I don't know whether it was due to so many key characters having similar names, the fact they weren't described very well, whatever, it's not one of the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2008
Dragon's Fire is the second collaboration between Anne and Todd - and once again they have produced an engaging and entertaining story. like the previous few novels, Dragon's Fire is a Third Pass story - which is set before the events of Dragonsblood, and is nicely woven around the story of Dragons Kin - starting slightly before that novel, paralleling it in places and continuing on after it.

One of the joys of this book for me is that the primary character is disabled (he cannot talk), and yet he finds a way to work well within the Harper Craft Hall, a craft dedicated to communication of various sorts! Pellar is a well rounded character in this novel, and is given both a chance to grow and change through tragedy, adversity and through shear adventure. He is one of the more interesting characters created by "team McCaffrey" - and one I hope we hear more about in the future. His journey through Dragon's Fire is both touching, and compelling - and well thought out.

The same can be said of the main villain of the story - Tenim who is truly evil, which is a rarity on Pern. Someone who places no value on the life of others - unless they can be of benefit to him. He is willing to risk Pern's safety for his own selfish ends. One of the nice touches about this character is that he seems to have picked up falconry and has a trained bird-of-prey (something that must be a descendant of the birds brought by the original colonists). His shear cold bloodedness is quite chilling. The contrast between him and Pellar makes for interesting reading - especially in the scenes where they are together.

There are plenty of interesting secondary characters as well, from the selfless Halla, to the tragic and misguided Tarik and his son Cristov (both of whom were introduced in Dragon's Kin). Again, Kindan makes the odd appearance in this book, with more being added to his robust character and background.

The way this story is woven around the events of Dragon's Kin is both clever, and intriguing and smacks of plans well laid - which I have no complaint about. The hunt for a new source of firestone, and the reason it is so different from the firestone fans of the Ninth Pass book are familiar with are nicely thought out, and fit very well with what has already been established in the series.

Dragon's Fire is an entertaining story - and one that I read over a few days. The pace and feel of this novel are markedly different from Dragon's Kin, yet still show the McCaffrey style through out. Again, this is a clever story and one that is a very worthy addition to the continuing Pern saga - make sure you have a box of tissues handy when reading it though - you will need them!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Having grown up with Pern, the dragon riders and the peoples of the Holds this story takes place in a different time period for others and just adds to the growing and incredible history of this world. I really good read. I look forward to seeing how Pern expands now Anne's son is also writing about this world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
With stories about the miners of Pern, the series has found a new life. Perhaps I am being a little harsh with four stars because this is really good. I just miss the dragon riders as the central characters. it is a very good story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
I have hugely enjoyed Anne Mccaffrey's Pern series over the years and applaud her genius in taking an old theme (dragons) and breathing new life into it. I object, however, to her son joining in on the act. Writing is a skill and an art and simply being related to a writer is not enough. Indeed, it is a measure of Todd Mccaffrey's inadequacy as a writer that he was unable to launch a writing career of his own and so latched on to Mummy's star. Pathetic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse