Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
462
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2014
Quick delivery using Prime next day, the print on this book is small and brand new, but I have already ready the book and loved it, felt like I was in the story, could not put the book down. I have ordered a large print version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
This purchase fulfilled all the promises from the site, in as much as the book was certainly in excellent condition and the delivery and packaging was all one could wish for. The story itself was very interesting - a good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Excellently written and a riveting read. Historically and fictionally engrossing, You can feel the heat of the erupting volcano and the passion of Attilus for water and for Corelia.
Can't wait to read more by Robert Harris.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
As described, very good conditions and quick delivery.I really enjoyed this book, based on fact but brought to life in fiction. Took it on holiday to Sorrento and read it with Mount Vesuvius in the background. Would reccommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2007
This book really brought the events to life for me; I think it is perhaps the most vivid historical novel I've read. Even although the outcome was inevitable, the plot is gripping and the book is impossible to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
the book was a revelation, not really shown any interest in the roman period before i read this book.
Now i am hooked, so well researched, but a wonderful story with many plot twists, sadden i have finished it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Considering we all know what happened in Pompeii he keeps the story interest going right to the end, and the characters are still people about whom we want to know more.

This is a real plus for the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Like all Robert Harris novels, this book gripped me from the first page, great descriptions, could visualise his scenes. Facts about Pompeii life that I didn't know and the construction of aquaducts. Would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
This was a compelling story. We will be visiting Pompeii soon and it will be more interesting as a result of reading this and trying to imagine what it was like. I will probably read more books by Robert Harris.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Took a while to get going, but once into it, it's unstoppable. Fantastic, well worth every penny. You won't be able to put it down, addictive, great read!
Looking forward to reading more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£6.29

Need customer service? Click here