Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2014
I was searching through my book boxes in the loft for something to read and came across book 1 of Mordant's Need.

I read it from cover to cover enjoying both the story line and characters, at the three quarter stage I searched Amazon for the second volume and ordered it. Book 2 arrived on the morning of my last chapter of book 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Excellent book, along with its second volume. I have owned since they were originally published in paperback, but ..... My Son has read them a number of times [they are his best book/story ever], my wife has read them and my daughter has nearly completed 'A Man Rides Through'. So my copies have become very dog-eared. Unfortunately this work is now out of print. Therefore I have had to purchase used copies. Both of these are clean copies, although they are are not mint, they are very suitable replacements for my old tattered ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Stephen R. Donaldson's Mordant's Need duology - The Mirror of Her Dreams and A Man Rides Through - is one of my all-time favourites. It is an original and inventive tale that somehow binds just the right amounts of ordinary, bizarre, adventure, dangers, romance, relationships, and intrigue. Characters are well-drawn, multi-faceted individuals, and yet at times representational of elements of society most will recognise. The two wonderful lead characters are far from obvious heroes, in their own societies almost invisible, in their own ways both flawed, damaged, fragile, near-useless. And yet both rise through dangerous experiences to become more than they were, to triumph over the subtle and not-so-subtle evils in their lives. I always find these two books a cracking read, and then the themes and characters stay with me long afterwards. Perhaps I like to believe that, though we are all quite ordinary, maybe we might each be capable of such growth and success. It's an almost poetic adventure of ordinary people in very extraordinary circumstances. There's a message to me there: out of all their hardships, failings and doubts, they strive anyway, and they shine.
(NB: Intrigued by the word Mordant? Look it up...)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2002
Donaldson has done it again. After creating the amazing world of Thomas Covenant he belts out this winner. His descriptive style envelopes you in the story and characters who are believable even given the circumstances of the story lead you on a rollercoaster of discovery. A young woman bored with her life isolated from the world needs mirrors to reassure her she is still alive. One night those mirrors changed her life when a young man appears through the mirror and persuades her to come with him. She arrives in a land where mirrors are magical gateways to other places. And the land is in conflict as war has been fortold. Their King, seems uninterested in the world and the Imagers, masters of mirrors try to decide the fate of the realm. Filled with sexual tension, lust, love and battles there is something for everyone. A brilliant two book series that should be on the shelf of all fans of Sci Fi and Fantasy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2001
Having read this and the 2nd book, I keep reading them, they are an addiction. I found the story to be very original, certainly Donaldson does unsual very well. I liked the mirror aspect of the story, and the clutz of a wizard, most of us could relate to him, I am sure. The woman who without mirrors did not know if she was real, was sobering, surely a mirror on people who live alone. A thunderingly good read, if you don't have these books, go get them, you will not be in the least sorry,. You may however feel as I did that there would be more to come, but then perhaps it is better to leave your audience wanting more. Since reading this, you know mirrors have never been quite the same. I wonder if I just touched that bi
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 1999
I really enjoyed this book and its sequel (A Man Rides Through). The world created is as complex as his Illearth chronicle, but lighter in tone. I occasionally lost track of the machinations of various characters in their different plot strands, but that is pretty common with Donaldson - concentration required. The world is good and fully thought out, with a specific type of magic applying. The heroine is pretty sympathetic although occasionally a tad passive (again a Donaldson trait, the main character paralysed through their previous problems, mindset etc). You want to find out what happened to everyone after the second volume finishes, just to keep reading. Highly recommended - if you claim to like fantasy then you shouldn't miss this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 1999
I am now reading the "Mirror of Her Dreams" for the third time in eight years. The storyline is robust and compelling even though the heroine is, in keeping with Donaldson, bordering on being overtly passive. As with the Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, I will again be sad to read the last chapter of the book, closing an enjoyable window into an interesting world.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
This book is quite a curiosity. The first half of the book is very slow paced and almost nothing happens but the story does pick up in the second half only for it to be a victim of silly storytelling. The plot: the kingdom of Mordant is almost on its knees - caused in no small part by its king who is an aging, senile old man who is more concerned with playing Hop-Board (a version draughts/checkers)than saving his own land. A team of magicians known as Imagers concoct a plan to bring a 'champion' into their world via magical mirrors to save their land. At first they only manage to bring a New York girl called Terisa Morgan into their fantasy land who becomes the lead character in the story before they bring who they think is the real 'champion' into their world who destroys part of the stone fortifications upon his escape from the Imagers.

This is where it suddenly gets curious. Two sides are formed before the halfway point of the book. The first is the kings side who appears to not care less whether his land survives or dies while the other side is the Imagers who want to try to save the land they live in. The author is clearly (but also oddly) on the kings side despite him being written as someone who deserves to lose while the Imagers (who are later replaced as the kings enemies with warring neighbouring countries who want to take the kings throne) are seen as traitors and evil. A further oddity comes in the form of Arch-Imager Vagel. He never appears in the book yet he is mentioned several times as the person who is causing some of the trouble described within. No proof of him being part of this is given however yet he is still blamed for much of the troubles. We then get onto the silly storytelling where Terisa and her friend Geraden are constantly jumping to silly conclusions that just happen to be spot on despite a complete lack of proof to the contrary and they also appear to be in the right place at the right time. A good example of this can be found near the end where they jump to the wild conclusion that one of the kings daughters is going to poison the resevoir of water to make most the soldiers and inhabitants ill so that they can't fight against the attacking armies from neighbouring countries. They both head to the water resevoir moments before they catch the long missing Princess Elega poisoning the water (something that she could have done any time in the two or so chapters she had gone missing). The story ends with another bit of stupidity. One of the Imagers Master Eremis accuses Geraden of being a traitor despite no real proof while Geraden accuses Eremis of being the true traitor also, with no real proof. Unsurprisingly, the author (who is on Geraden's side because he supports the king) makes people believe that he's the one telling the truth even though Geraden can't string together any good reasons as to why he's truthful! Just as Eremis is about to call a witness to strenthen his own case against Geraden, Geraden comes over to the witness (which happens to be his brother who is in league with the warring enemies) and kills him! Geraden then makes a run for it which makes him even more guilty than he previously was (killing a witness to keep him quiet and then running away surely counts against him). Finally he has the audacity to claim that Eremis was the person who killed the witness using magic (as if anybody would believe that)before jumping through a mirror to escape.

In short, the author is clearly on the kings side but the side he supports he writes the characters out as people who deserve to lose while the opposition who is clearly more smarter and who shows reasons to want to save the kingdom is portrayed as the enemies! The author never makes it clear why he is supporting the side that wants to destroy the kingdom while pouring scorn over the side that wants to save it but thats what he does! Very curious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2006
Of all of Donaldson's work, these two volumes are the best. He creates a vibrant, incredibly 'real' world, peopled with fascinating, complex and compelling characters. The plot is tight and well thought-out. Well worth re-reading several times over the years.

Truly deserves five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
In reasonable condition. Brought as extra copy of well loved book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse