Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
164
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2016
I first read this book as a teenager and loved it. The story of the dragon riders of Pern is a classic, which will never date or go out of style.

With F'lar and Lessa as the hero and heroine, the book quickly captures the readers attention and the wonderful dragons they ride are a magical and magnificent part of their story.

It is an epic tale, telling of battles, riders, armies and a biological enemy that only the dragons can destroy. It has everything - including adventure and romance.

I can't wait to re-read the whole series. I promise you that Anne McCaffrey's books will tell you how humans arrived on this Earth like planet called Pern. How they bred the dragons and developed one of the most unique communities ever to feature in English literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
beginning story gets you hooked and wanting to know how theycan survive amccaffey at her best!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
At start you sit there wonder "what's going on?" Then you get caught up in the story and you drift off to the land of Dragons!
I enjoyed this book, characters were nicely covered and story line was well done.
Now need to get next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
I really enjoy reading Anne McCaffrey dragon books, her insight into the future is on a par with George R R Martin. You really feel as if you are living the story; totally captivating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It is really good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
arrived as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Anne McCaffrey's Dragonflight is a rare thing - a genuinely original story rather than another genre clone. And yet this richly imagined tale includes elements of a great many well loved movies - the disinherited young woman who fulfills a destiny far beyond her imaginings, the great and enduring love that she finds along the way, the looming threat that will bring an end to everything she loves, the elite band of heroes who stand against that threat (even though they know they can't win), the impossible act of bravery that saves the day and yes, the cavalry that thunders over the hill in the final reel. They are all there, familiar themes that pull you into the story, and yet Ms McCaffrey's unique setting and particular use of them will delight you.

The girl is Lessa, forced into servitude by the Lord who ursurped her lands and title, but whose success in winning back those lands brings her to the attention of the Dragon Riders of the title. Though too few in numbers, and barely tolerated by a world that has forgotten the need for the great telepathic dragons and their riders, they are all that stands against the coming dark. They need Lessa, and it is with the riders that Lessa finds her most enduring love when she bonds with the newly hatched, and last, of the golden queen dragons. As to the threat, well that's one of the things that makes Dragonflight unique as it does not involve hordes of the undead, orcs or aliens. Similarly, the act of bravery stands out as one of the best imagined resolutions to an impossible problem in fiction. And arrival of the cavalry is just that, but with a neat McCaffrey twist that brings all of the plot lines together, as every ending should. Dragonflight is a great read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
I bought this as a kid just because it had a dragon on the front but never got round to reading it. Then, last week, now a 21 year old, I picked it up at the start of a free evening. I carved through the first 100 pages before the end of the night.

Anne McCaffrey creates a supremely engrossing world in this novel. The history and folklore of Pern are so well layered - she weaves folk song, tradition, politics, natural disaster and social order together into a cogent, believable world, yet doesn't allow you to lose the sense of wonder for what she's crafted, allowing you to experience the world of the dragonriders through Lessa as she finds her feet in the Weyr.

Possibly the novel's chief strength is that there is no "big bad". Instead, the conflict comes from the apparent threat or the Threads and the disagreement surrounding their fabled arrival. Unlike with most natural disaster stories, there is never a sense of needless scale or boredom with the danger. They are a thoroughly dynamic catastrophe. But this allows the real drama to flow from the relationships between the characters - all of whom are flawed and nuanced.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
I love Pern books I had the whole set in paper back and reread them at least 6 times but when we moved they got put somewhere I couldn't find them so decided once I bought my Kindle to re-buy them all for it. I really enjoy the characters and dragons so much. I was hooked the first page of the first book and couldn't wait for each book to come out. I think they started my love of reading back when they first came out.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse