Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
77
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2011
I first bought a 1967 copy of this book in the seventies, which is now falling to bits. So in order to read it for the six or seventh time I ordered a new copy. If you are happy to read it on the understanding that it is a very one sided version of events from Hunter S Thompson - it is a great read. You get a real feel and appreciation of what life amongst the original sixties Hells Angels must have been like, written by a clever and interesting writer in Thompson.
For a balanced and I would guess more accurate view of events you need go no further than original Angel - Sonny Barger's autobiography, in which references are made to Thompsons book, and from reading both - interesting comparisons and view points can be made.
For an acid tripping, drug and booze fuelled crazy view of the Hells Angels, and the best of all in my opinion has to be 'Freewhweelin Frank' by an early Frisco member Frank Reynolds. A great read, mainly I think because Frank comes across as wild, stoned and crazy as most of us imagine these guys were back then,
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2004
An interesting historical account of one side of 60's American Society which still remains hidden territory to this day.
Hells Angels is a well written, informative and entertaining book documenting the history of, and the author's involvement with the Hells Angels. It illustrates the conflicting views of the Angels, society, press and authorities of the mid 60's. Though the accuracy of the account is still limited to that of an outside observer, so readers may wish to also read the leader of the Oakland Hells Angels own account : Sonny S. Barger's 'Hell's Angel: The Life and Times of Sonny Barger and the Hell's Angels Motorcycle Club' to get an insider viewpoint. The two books provide an interesting contrast in views.
Never-the-less 'Hells Angels' remains a rich and involving read which, once started, is difficult to put down - a must for all who are even mildly interested in Biker culture.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Been after this since 1967 ! Fascinating historical stuff as to the origins of the Hells Angels, and the bad press they received at the time. Outlaws they may have been and targets by the police always but toally sensationalised in the then media for monetary gain. Mate of mine (who was a rocker at the time used to read out passages from it when we were apprentices - I was a Mod !!). A definitive story of Angels life style, written accurately by someone who was there. A must read for historical bikers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
I love Thompson's writing style, but this could've been cut down by two thirds and wouldn't have lost anything. A lot of it was just repeating the same points over and over, and at some stages drifted off into a personal diatribe about sloppy and inaccurate reporting. If you've never read this before, you can safely put it down two thirds of the way in - the whole last third (perhaps with the exception of the final chapter) is just filler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
A great introduction to Thompson - less unhinged than Fear and Loathing, but with that same vividness and sharp observational writing. Also, it's a fascinating bit of social history - if you're a fan of Sons of Anarchy, this provides an interesting context and contrast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
I'm a little biased, as I love Hunter S Thompson's writing style, but this is a gripping and intersting read all the way through, although it has to be said that there are some definite troughs among the peaks which could have been ironed out with a little more harsh editing. However, that is a minor complaint compared to how great it was to read this. Gave me a new perspective on the Hell's Angels, who I knew very little about before reading this other than that they were big beardy guys who rode Harleys, didn't shower much, and liked to party.

Macktastic Slim gives his stamp of approval to this book ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2002
This is certainly an interesting read and who better to cast his eye over the last outlaw group of the 20th century than one of the original outlaw journalists. This is a very entertaining read and I would reccomend this to anybody who lives any kind of "alternative" lifestyle. However once you have read this you must read Hells Angel by Sonny Barger who is mentioned throughout this book and reading his book you notice that Thompson's book is not quite as good as it first seems so read it before you read Sonny's. Enjoy
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I read this book for the first time in about 1970, a copy with the now-desirable 'back patch' front cover and have often thought over the years that I'd like to read it again.
Even now, nearly fifty years after it was first published, the book doesn't disappoint.

Delivered quickly and safely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
Hunter S Thompson has covered one of the most notorious motorcycle gangs in american history, or so it seems. This book mixes fact and fiction about this gang with the media giving the highly exaggerated accounts of the incidents and hunter giving his views and opinions towards the gang,the members,media and the government while following them around on there everyday life. While getting interviews from high profile members and small time. Overall this book is a worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2004
If you've met HST via Fear and Loathing and that's all you've read so far then you've no idea what a genuis he is. Hell's Angels is, without a doubt, his best book to date. It offers a unique opportunity to follow the Gonzo Doctor on his journeys with the most violent, filthy and misunderstood motorcycle club in history. Buy it, go get some booze and settle in for a weekend.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)