Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
122
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2017
My two absolutely loves this bed. She slept really well on her first overnight stay with Grandpa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Not as good as I've lost my potty!

But Still a good story. With the way the words are written it's a bit difficult to work out which animal is talking. If like me you like to. Do voices for each one it's not the easiest to follow.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 October 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Great book for pre-school children. Written in an amusing, entertaining way and perfect for a bedtime story.

'A Bed of Your Own' follows the adventures of Susie Sue, a little girl who attempts to go to bed only to find she's sharing with a whole host of little animals and they're so uncomfortable none of them can go to sleep. Susie Sue leads each animal back to its own bed explaining on the way that sleeping in your own bed is really the best idea but; once they're all settled it's Susie Sue who is out of bed. The animals return the favour and once back in her own bed the little girl is snuggly, warm and safe and soon falls asleep.

Lovely little story with a message for very young children that their own bed is the best place to sleep. The final page affirms that idea with "...Susie Sue asleep in her own bed - AS YOU SHOULD BE TOO...".

Beautifully illustrated and a book we bought for our first granddaughter and then used later on with her little brother. They both loved the story of Susie Sue and so did we. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
nobody in my family liked this book as the rhymes were forced, the story was boring and lame, and the pictures were confusing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Bed time is not always the easiest period of the day when dealing with a child, they would much rather be up than do something boring like sleep. A book that highlights the importance of sleeping in your own bed and why naps are good is a useful tool. `A Bed of Your Own' does just this and also throws in some great rhyming couplets, fun characters and illustrations that will make you smile.

Suzy Sue cannot sleep; this is due to the various farm animals also occupying her bed. She must persuade her furry pals to go back to their own beds in the barn. Mij Kelly and Mary McQuillan have done a great job with `Bed' on many levels. Firstly, the story itself is a simple one, but great fun. There is added pleasure in the fact that the entire book is written in rhyming couplets, to be able to do this and still make a coherent story is testament to Kelly and McQuillan's skills. The highlights do not end with just the words; the illustrations are also very good.

Suzy Sue herself is a little bundle of energy, but it is the various farmyard animals that steal all the giggles - I particularly like the horse with a penchant for stuffed animals and the goat with reading glasses. Whilst the main character look great, Kelly and McQuillan has not forgotten the background, the book is full of little surprises for curious eyes to find. `A Bed of My own' is a fun book with high quality writing and great imagery, I for one enjoyed reading it, never mind kids!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 October 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If your child has ever made a fuss about going to bed or about sleeping in their own room - and whose child hasn't?! - then this is a great book for you. It tells the story of Suzy Sue, who goes to bed only to find that her bed contains various animals all trying to get to sleep. She has to take them back to their own bed and show them that going to sleep is easy when you think about how comfy and cosy your bed is and let all your worries drift away.

The story is absolutely adorable and the book is filled with bright, sweet illustrations. The tale is told in rhyme and there are some really great rhyming moments such as 'Oh what a shock! What a drama of dramas! A cow in the bed - a cow in pyjamas!'

I can't fault this book and I would recommend it as a great purchase for your family or a lovely gift.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I read this aloud to a 2 year old the other day. She sat still for a couple of pages and that was it. When asked to point out the sorts of animals there were, she didn't latch onto them straightaway as she normally does - I don't think she quite got what they were supposed to be. Instead, she squirmed out of my arms and fetched Judith Kerr's The Tiger Who Came to Tea. Then she sat as good as gold while I read it to her. After that it was Shirley Hughs' Alfie's Feet. Again, she loved this one and could identify items in the book. So, voting by child preference, I'd say this was an also ran in our particular infant library hall of fame.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I bought this book to go with a clock and chart to help my grand-daughter to stay in her own bed if she woke, rather than going into mum and dad. The three items together worked well. She Loves this book as it has a picture of her clock in it.
A lovely colourful book, worth the money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This beautifully illustrated story tells the tale of Suzy Sue who goes to bed and finds it full of animals from the farm she lives on all complaining that they don't want to sleep in their own beds because variously "It's too hot, it's too cold, it's too dark, it's too light" so she takes them back to their own beds and tells them how to relax and drift to sleep. The book ends by spelling out how everyone (mouse, dog, cat, Suzy Sue!) has their own place to sleep.

It's a really charming story of a good length with a well written and well paced rhyme, and a moral to the story that all parents will be happy to repeatedly share with their children! Definitely recommended and a new favourite in our son's library.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2017
My 2 year old (25 months) loves listening to me reading this story to him at bedtime & has started randomly reciting bits and pieces of it while we're out & about. We will soon be transitioning to a toddler bed so I'm hoping it will help!

In any case, the book has a fun rhyming scheme throughout, unlike some baby books I don't get bored reading it over and over (yet..!), toddler laughs when the sheep says "let go of my nose"

"Plot" synopsis: A little girl (Suzy-Sue) is struggling to get to sleep in her bed - but that's because there are 4 large animals who have sneaked into bed with her. She marches them back to their own bed & then tries to get them to go to sleep... falling asleep herself in the process. There are no adults/family mentioned in the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse