Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
146
4.8 out of 5 stars
How To Be a Pirate (How To Train Your Dragon)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 September 2017
endless hours of fun on long car journeys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2017
My grandson was excited when I told him had got him book but very disappointed when it arrived to find the card page missing from the back!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 June 2014
NOTE THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE AUDIO BOOK READ BY DAVID TENNANT.

This is the forth audio book in the 'How to Train Your Dragon' series read by David Tennant that I have had the pleasure of listening to.

This installment is, in my opinion, the best yet.

How to be a Pirate is brilliantly read by David Tennant.
If you imagine how good he could be and multiply it by a factor of 5 you would still be selling him short.
He is superb.

I listen to a lot of audio books and Tennant is right up there in his reading with Tony Robinson's reading of the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett and with Stephen Fry's reading of J K Rowling's Harry Potter series of books. Brilliance.

I kid you not.

True, Tennant does have a lot to go on.
Cresssida Cresswell's books are wonderfuland fabulously funny children's tales but in Tennant's capable voice he ratchets their brilliance to a whole new level.

His vocal characteristics are brilliant.
The pace is ideal and as the books are so funny and well written with a cracking story the action and enjoyment fairly canters along.

Think of a Noggin the Nog crossed with Harry Potter and a smidgeon of Spike Milligan and you have the idea of just how good an author Cresswell is.

I don't need to give you the plot others will do so in reviews of the book because I am reviewing the audio version.

If you have kids that are reluctant readers play them this on a car journey and I guarantee you three things will happen.

One you will seek out the rest in the fabulous series.

Two Your kids will pick up and read the books wanting to get more.
and

Three You too will, like me, become a fan.

And I really envy you discovering this fantastic audio series for yourselves.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
I really loved this book. I read it with my dad every night before bed.
Can't wait for the next one.
Sam ...aged 7
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
Forget the film and invest in this great series. For long car journeys with children throw away the portable dvd player and put any one of these story cds on.
We have the whole series and all of the stories have been played over and over again and -unlike the film based on the first adventure that Hiccup has - are entirely true to the books. The story itself ( and all in the series) is fantastic for both children and adults alike. However the fact that they are read by the talented David Tennant really does just clinch the deal. The story is read by him in such an engaging way that you will drive round the block to make sure you hear the end. His voices for all the characters are wonderful and seem to encapuslate each individual precisely.
All our family enjoy them from 5-45 male and female.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 29 September 2005
Both the book and the audio of this are great. The adventuires of Hiccup perfect for boys of 6-10 who have stopped reading. The are funny, exciting, touching and written in the kind of vivid language that children understand immediately. Hiccup is a wonderful hero, a kind of Viking nerd despised by his thuggish tribe (including his father Stoic the Vast). Here, the Hooligan tribe get directions to a legendary treasure, guarded by monsters. Only Hiccup, his tiny dragon Toothless and his best friend Fishlegs get it - but they have to get past more monsters and a treacherous farmer first. Read by David Tennant, the new Doctor Who, with huge gusto.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Fabulous
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Cannot go wrong with these books for the kids, great stories and adventure to keep them interested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 5 September 2004
Hiccup the Useless and his dragon Toothless are back, trying to learn sword-fighting at sea in the middle of a storm whipped up by Thor on a bad day. Saved from death at the edge of Snotlout's sword by the indomitable Toothless (who bites his enemy's bum when he can be bothered) and from drowning by a mysterious coffin, the Hairy Hooligan tribe are soon hotly pursuing a fabulous treasure hidden by one of Hiccup's ancestors on an island guarded by terrifying monsters. Once again, Hiccup's brains outwit the deep-laid plots of their enemies... The great jokes and insanely funny drawings go deeper than mere gags. This is the story of how a clever boy in a stupid family not only proves his worth as a real hero but makes his stupid father, Stoic the Vast, realise that he loves his son, and is proud of him. One of the most perfect series to get boys hooked on books, it is strongly recommended.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Bought for my daughter as she loves this serious of books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse