Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
25
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
My 6-year old couldn't wait to read this book and finished it in about an hour. She read Claude in the City about a month ago and fell in love with Claude and his unconventional friend Sir Bobblysock. Both books had us giggling non-stop and we can't wait for the next book in the series. The books are a breath of fresh air after the monotonous Rainbow Magic saga. Lovely illustrations and simple but fun story lines were greatly enjoyed by my confident little reader. Thankfully, no toilet humour in this one.

Claude is a small dog with beady eyes, a quirky sense of fashion and adventurous spirit. He is smart, alert and great at problem solving. Also, very importantly, he's incredibly cute, funny and a little bit crazy. Juicy bone baguette or ice-cream anyone?
Sir Bobblysock has an amazing pair of designer sunglasses and is an expert at building sand castles. Sounds fun? I'm sure every child (and hopefully adult) will appreciate the lighof uncomplicated humour of this book. Definitely recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
It seems to me that for a kid's general interest picture/story book what you sometimes want is - a friendly looking hero, a story that moves along but makes sense, illustrations that are clear or at least easily explainable, and a cheerful overall vibe. There are other books that are edgier or maybe more audacious, but for a solid appealing read those basic elements seem to describe a successful book.

Well, that's what we have here. Claude has a certain wide-eyed cheerful appeal without being dopey or simple. He is adventurous but alert. He is brave and resourceful. There is a touch of "the innocent abroad", but he is not a foolish character. In this volume he's off to the beach, and he has a number of gentle, amusing adventures that involve sand castles, pirates, sharks and ice cream - which pretty much hits any kid's idea of a beach adventure. Between the drawings, (which are charming and expressive), and the narration, (which is clear but not patronizing), you get a story that is easy enough to follow, maybe with a little help, and very satisfying. There is a lot of extra business scattered throughout the illustrations, so there are things to talk about or to point out to your little reader as you go through the story. (There are also a few subtle little jokes for the adults just to keep your interest up as you read through together.)

"Charm" is a bit of an overused description, so let's just say that this book is a mellow little lark. And sometimes that's just what you want. A nice little find. Definitely worth a look.

Please note that I received a free advance ecopy of this book in exchange for a candid review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Bought for our 4 year old as a change from the norm and she absolutely loves it. Great story, lots of fun and brilliant illustrations make for a winning combination. We've also got Claude at the circus (also great) and are ready to order Claude in the City. Can't wait for it to come.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
I bought the first Claude book (Claude In the City) in a desperate attempt to get my 7 year old son to read something! He absolutely loved it and read it from cover to cover without stopping. So of course we had to get the next one in the series and neither of us were disappointed. It has the same charming, gentle wit with enough silliness and nonsense to engage most children, like the fact that almost everything Claude needs throughout the story can be found under his red beret!

I would recommend this book to anyone and in fact I bought one for the school library in the hope that it will inspire other children to realise that reading can be fun.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Claude is just amazing. This is my particular favourite although my nearly 7 year old daughter prefers "Claude in the city". They are all lovely, easy to read and funny. As a parent I enjoy re-reading them and even my 3 year old is happy to hear them. They are good early readers when my daughter was just beginning to read and a vast improvement on fairy stories. Thoroughly recommended. Can't get enough Claude.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Can't recommend these Claude books enough. Great for the 6-8 age group as the books contain a lot of humour which introduces children to the comical side of books and helps instil a love of reading for pleasure. Wrote more please Alex T Smith although I have found Foxy Tales so will be purchasing those as my daughter has all the Claude titles now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Don't know if it's the beret, but I picture Claude as a French dog. This and all the Claude books are just beautifully written - very tongue in cheek in parts - the children love it, and adults have to stifle a smirk or two!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Excellent the whole claude series funny clever great for my five year if i could i would give it 6 stars i could go on and on about how my son loves these books here's is a tip buy all of them you wont regret it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
We've just received our pre-ordered copy of Claude on Holiday by the fabulously talented Alex T Smith. Excitement ensued! We read it as our bedtime story and we ALL loved it. My children both loved the previous book 'Claude in the City' and so we just had to order the follow-up.

There are many things we love about the Claude series. The characters are charming: Claude is completely loveable and his sensible friend Sir Bobblysock is (hilariously) the voice of reason, often cutting in with a wry comment, a rolling of the eyes or a tut. The beautifully drawn black and red illustrations are bold, and wonderfully expressive. Various characters pop up in the book like caricatures - many of them will probably remind you of someone you know, or perhaps someone you've seen in your neighbourhood. These stories are wonderfully silly, just the sort of thing that children like to hear about and imagine. One of the things that my husband and I really enjoy are the various levels of humour Alex uses; there's something for everyone; both my husband and I were chuckling about cheeky parts of the story whilst our two girls were laughing at the silly people and what Claude and Sir Bobblysock were up to. Younger children will enjoy the funny pictures and hearing the story. Older ones can read and enjoy it for themselves, or do as we do and listen to it for a bedtime story, we add lots of silly voices and sound effects :) It's a brilliant book for putting a smile on your face.

In this story, Claude goes on holiday with Sir Bobblysock. He miraculously pulls a suitcase from under his dog bed (amazing) and fills it with all sort of important things including a pair of y-fronts, a tambourine and some sticky tape. There's excitement as Claude saves a swimmer in trouble, a funny meeting with some French tourists, and hilarity when Sir Bobblysock steals his thunder on the beach later. Then there's pirates, treasure and seasickness... and sandy underpants.

A great story for any age of child, (or adult!), full of fun and laughter. We CAN'T WAIT for the next Claude book to be published!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here