Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2014
Everyone wants a 'happy family': when you have a four-legged friend THEY have needs that WE need to understand if we're to live together well. Read this as soon as you can. How to train 'kindly' so your dog WANTS to work with you. 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Love cesar. This book is great but not that informative
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Once again Cesar Millan has produced another brilliant book that helps to add some more pieces to the dog psychology puzzle. This book provides valuable guidance in areas like how to pick a new dog that is right for you and how to introduce that dog to his/her new home. As usual Cesar makes the dog 'training' experience one that is natural and harmonious for both dog and owner. This book explores the relationship between dog and owner from the cradle to the grave. I highly recommend Cesar's new book to anyone thinking of getting a new dog whether a rescue or from a breeder. This book is packed with excellent advice and tips from start to finish. Read the book, apply the wisdom and enjoy true doggy/human harmony and happiness.
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
Excellent book for ALL dog owners. Whether you've owned dogs for years or thinking about owning a dog this book is a must. I've studied to advanced level behavioural studies which helps with dog training, but this book teaches dog psychology which is more important than dog training. The book is easy to read and covers every aspect of how to be a great owner and have a really happy dog.

This book is a great idea too for people who are nervous around dogs, or had a bad experience. It can help you to build confidence in your behaviour around dogs.

I have read several great books about dog behaviour including Jan Fennel who is a great 'dog listener'. Her books have helped me as an owner. I think that this book is the best though as the detail in every aspect of being a dog owner is in the book. My rescue dog has really benefited from me reading Ceasars tips and implementing them. He is a changed collie dog who is extremely relaxed now. I am a really confident great owner now.

Highly recommend, a must read for all professional dog owners too. Ceasars understanding of the dog and human relationship is spot on. Its a DOG OWNER/CARERS BIBLE!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
I'm expecting to get a puppy in two months, and buying this book was part of preparing myself for it. I've found the book really helpful. If you're not familiar with the TV show, you might at first be taken aback about not finding commands and how to train your dog to listen to them. This book is all about understanding your dog's mind, and influencing her through your energy by behaving like a canine pack leader. It does a great job at explaining this, and there are plenty of practical tips.

On a sidenote, although the title refers to a family, it really applies to a family as small as you and your hamster.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2016
I bought this even though I don't have a dog, I cut the cover out and framed it, now everybody that visits my home thinks I'm related to a celebrity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
An excellent and well written book.
It is very much in keeping with Cesar's relaxed style epitomised in his 'Dog Whisperer' TV show (if you haven't seen it - it's on Sky3 / freeview - and is excellent).

Packed with valuable information about choosing a dog and training yourself and other family members to accommodate a dog in your lives, it will be an an eye-opener and an inspiration to any thinking of getting a canine in their lives.

As Cesar often states - he rehabilitates dogs and trains humans. This book pretty much follows that pattern. It will help you to get inside your dog's head and understand his behaviour from the inside out. From there you will be able to relate to your animal on a much more cogent level.

Whether you are thinking of getting a dog, thinking of getting another dog or have had a dog for years, this book WILL change your life - and your dog's - for the better!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
`
"A member of the Family" Like all Cesar`s previous books that I have read this is another imfomative read, whether you already have a dog or are considering getting a dog you will find clear guide on a variety of topics and situations.It's true what he says look at yourself for your dogs behaviour,it taught me to relax and remain balanced at all times, especially when around dogs.Therapy for both owners and dogs a winning combination. Cesar is a very gifted man,his books a recommended read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
An excellent book, providing the basics in dog psychology. This book is not about how to 'train' your dog but how to better understand which behaviours are potential future problem and which are genuine breed characteristics. Very good read for any dog lover.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
Love this book with background info on Cesar himself, as well as tips for integrating a new puppy into the household and your pet in general.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)