Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
Really quick to arrive and great for studying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
It has really been useful so far with National 5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Five stars I feel is a very appropriate rating as it came quickly this is good as we started it at school soon after it was delivered. The updated notes for National 5 also helps as the old Standard Grade version would be of no use to me as the National 5 course is completely different. It was also a play which really grabbed me as it is set in 60's Glasgow. The play was very much in context for that time as part of our course we had to research about 60's Glasgow and the play was spot on.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 October 2015
This deceptively simple play involving only four characters: Davie, his son Alec, his brother Billy and Billy’s son Ian is set in the 1960s in Govan, a poor protestant area of Glasgow. Davie is an almost tragic figure, beaten down since the loss of his job and then the death of his wife. Despite the meagre circumstances in which he and Alec live, he drinks, loses money at the bookies and is dependent on loan sharks, who give him a beating when he is unable to pay their extortionate demands. Alec and he share an easy, relaxed relationship, but as his father sinks ever deeper into despair and is fixated on the past, Alec takes the one route that can take him above and beyond this desperately depressing situation, education, leading eventually to university and a move away from home.

Billy is a bigot, a sectarian Rangers supporting “orange head-breaker who passes on to his son his values and thwarts Ian’s desire to join the army. At the same time Billy cares for his brother and gives/lends him money when Davie is most in need. Ian is a simple lad unable to understand the value of education and trapped by his father’s prejudices. Little beyond the present and football interests him, and we see he and Alec grow increasingly apart.

The play, written in the 1980s, perhaps somewhat under the influence of hostility to Margaret Thatcher’s attack on manufacturing and the unions, shows warmth and caring as well as dreadful loss and poverty. Symbolism and topical music references are among the devices that serve to underpin the significance of the events and the overall situation. It is not, perhaps, a great play but clearly it has theatrical potential – I have not had the opportunity to see it performed – and it concerns issues as alive now as when it was written and when it is set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Arrived in plenty of time bought for school and seems to be doing the job
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Good read with very useful notes at the back for national 5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
was helpfull for my son who is doing this as one of the books for his national 5 English.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Delivered very quick. Daughter needed it for school. She is very happy with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Exactly as described, and arrived in pristine condition. Would recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Necessary for preparation for National 5 exams
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here