Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
135
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2007
Leave those you love behind to face a fearful future. Arrive in a bewildering place - strange and uncaring. Slowly friendly strangers help you move around, make sense of bizarre food, and begin to make sense of this place. Every good person has tale to tell. Most have beautiful surreal pets too. A testament to one of the bravest acts of humanity - to leave everything behind and seek a future for you and your family in another world.

Shaun Tan has produced another work that combines the surreal with profound human experience. This is more clearly aimed at a older audience - some adults found the 'picture book' format a barrier to engaging with 'The Red Tree'. The artwork and presentation is beautifully done - the paper is detailed like aged documents - spots of mould or cracks where a picture has been kept in a pocket - give a feel of a treasured scrapbook of life-changing moments.

The book is wordless - and unlike his previous works, has many smaller drawings (some can be seen at his website). They are all pencilled with subtle colours added, giving a more sombre feel that previous works, but the story and his wonderful details quickly capture your full attention.

[...]
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2007
I would recommend this book on the strength and beauty of the drawings alone, but I am happy to say that it also tells a moving, compelling story. It captures well that first encounter with a new country, the "arrival" when one is geting to know a new place, new language, new foods and trying to make sense of it all. Is this world safer than the one you've left behind? What dangers forced you to leave?

Through using elements of fantasy, it avoids an easy exoticism and prevents us from patronising the main characters -- we don't understand this world either, can't read its language, don't recognise its animals or know how its machines work. We aren't sure what is safe and what is not. We would like to believe the world is benign, but we don't know, and there seem infinite possiblities for things to go wrong. In this tension, it also captures the importance of the kindness of strangers and of fellow immigrants, whose sometimes painful back-stories are conveyed beautifully and concisely in one or two pages of images.

All this, without the use of words. A remarkable achievement.

I am an immigrant by choice, not necessity (as are many of the characters in this story), but I know what I will be giving my friends and relatives for years to come.
11 Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Gorgeous, superbly illustrated, powerful book. Sympathetic to the plight of immigrants travelling to foreign places, wherever on the earth they may find themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Great book received promptly thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
The most beautiful book I have seen in many years! Prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
quick delivery, excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2007
While it doesn't take long to "read", its artwork is just so captivating. The reason I put read in quotes is that there aren't any words, just pictures. But the artwork that is there, is just outstanding. You could take forever just engrossed in the beautiful artwork that is inside of this book. The story that is told through this artwork is really great. Its basically the story of a man who travels to a new place and is dependent on the kindness of strangers. All in all, a great story that everyone should take a look at. May I also recommend The Fates by Tino Georgiou. A Brilliant novel.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
Living proof that picture books are not just for children, The Arival by Shaun Tan is one of the best books of the year. Not an easy read, there is so much in each and every one of the wonderful pictures. This is a book to read again and again and each time there will be something there that was hidden before. The man is a genius. This should be on the shortlist for the Booker prize.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Even wonder what it's like to be an immigrant moving to a new place to look for work, to see and experience a whole new world? The Arrival will tell you the story of someone who made this journey.

This beautiful book is designed like a worn out photo album from the past, not sure which past if the photo on the cover is anything of a hint. The book opens to a wall of immigrant photos, just like those you'll see in Ellis Island Museum. Several drawings of immigrant processing, passport pictures, and the "arrival hall" are based on photographs taken at Ellis Island.

The story starts with a man putting a photo of his family carefully into his luggage. It's early morning. His wife and daughter are walking him to the train station. The scene cuts to show the town he's leaving from, one that's inhabited by gigantic black tentacles. At the train station, you can see the sadness in the eyes of her daughter, who only manages to break into a sad smile when her dad pulls a paper crane from under his hat to cheer her up. They hug and bid farewell. The train leaves. The mother and girl then walk back home under the shadows of the tentacles.

You can tell the tremendous amount of research and thought put in the panels. Shaun Tan has put little nuances and details everywhere, enabling readers to fully immerse themselves in the new world feeling the sense of wonder and foreignness as a new immigrant might. When the man is in the arrival hall of the immigration building, he undergoes the health checkups, questioning by officers on the purpose of his visit before he's approved entry.

He finds his job, made new friends and we learn their stories and more of this strange world. The last act ends happily with the man inviting his wife and daughter over. Seeing the joy on their faces as they reunite is so touching. In the last panel, the girl is pointing directions for a newcomer who's lost.

My short review just barely scratches the depth of the book. It's really much deeper.

This is storytelling at its best. Every panel advances the story. No words are used, and none are needed. Shaun Tan seems to have perfected the art of visual narrative with his surrealistic imagery and believable facial expressions. This book is a fascinating eye opener in every literal sense. It's really an enjoyable read and experience.

Most highly recommended.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£11.38

Need customer service? Click here