Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
24
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2017
Keneally is a fantastic author. As ever, his original book Schindler's Ark was even better than the brilliant film. This follow-up was a wonderfully poignant read, simultaneously sad and exhilarating. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Fascinating history behind what was a brilliant book in the first place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 November 2008
I remember Thomas Keneally telling the story of how he came across the Schindler story when 'Schindler's Ark' ('List' in the USA) was first published. Then it won the Booker Prize and eventually, though after a long delay, was filmed by Steven Spielberg. This book covers that territory, from the moment Schindler walked into a Los Angeles bags, briefcases and leather goods shop and thereby met the extraordinary 'Leopold Page', in reality Leopold (or Poldek) Pfefferberg, to the making of the film and its success. The book is partly the story of Keneally's growing involvement in the tale and the search for other Schindlerjuden, the Jews Schindler saved, partly reflections on the Holocaust, the writing of the book, the making of the film and the moral ambiguities which surfaced in various ways at various stages of the process.

If this perhaps makes it seem a little dry, it's not. It is a highly personal book - this was often not an easy process for Keneally or his family - whose two 'heroes' are Pfefferberg, a truly remarkable man, and I think Keneally himself, though he would probably squirm in denial at that conclusion. There are interesting facts and anecdotes throughout, and many, many remarkable characters emerge, most of them other survivors. The process of getting the film made is absorbing - Keneally meeting Spielberg, the rights eventually being bought, time elasping and Spielberg working on other films, Keneally being contracted to write a screenplay, a new writer and then another being found, eventually the actual making of the film onset, meeting the actors, the first screening, the adulation - not unmixed with bitter and vociferous criticism - that it received. It's not a long book, but it covers a great deal of ground in a most involving way, and towards the end it becomes very moving. I enjoyed it very much, and I recommend it highly.

I would simply add that any who are moved and drawn in by the Schindler story, as well as seeing Spielberg's film should seek out Jon Blair's TV documentary, voiced by Dirk Bogarde and available sadly at present only in VHS form, which Keneally mentions with approval and which includes chilling interview film of Majola, Amon Goeth's mistress, close to death, whom Keneally and Pfefferbeg failed to find when they visited Vienna. Her ambivalent testimony, whispered in the pained rasp of a terminal emphysemia sufferer, is well worth hearing, and there are many, many excellent and moving interviews with DEF and Brinnlitz survivors as well. I think, in its different way, it is just as good as Spielberg's film.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
Searching for Schindler This is the story of how Thomas Keneally came to write the book. It is full of interesting snippets of information. It is less about Schindler himself than the writing of Schindler's Ark and researching the various original sources. If you want to read about Schindler the man, then you need to read Schindler's Ark Schindler's Ark. This paints a much fuller portrait of the man himself, the time he lived in and just what he did to save the Jews at huge personal risk to himself. Both books are increadibly readable and informative.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2008
I bought this book having heard extracts on the radio. As I read the book I realised how selective the programme had been. I wish I had not spent the money buying it. I found it self indulgent on the part of the writer, just a platform for how wonderful he was. Very surprised, as I had expected a more factual account of how he gathered information on Schindler NOT a vehicle for writing about his own life. Perhaps the giveaway is the large number of photographs showing the author with various people in various settings. If I had wanted an autobiography about Thomas Keneally I would have bought one.
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 August 2010
For those who loved the film Schindler's list this is a must read/hear. It is Keneally's own story of how he came across the story of Schindler. It fills in much of the background, and not having read Schindler's List/Ark, I really enjoyed this. The book also covers the story of the film being made - another fascinating drama in itself.

I listened to the audiobook and thoroughly enjoyed the brilliant narration - the reader does many of the accents of the characters from different nationalities. I listened to it on holiday and found it hard to put down - often wandering around the cottage with my iPod - stopping and replaying bits for my wife to listen to. The 9 hours certainly didn't seem like it.

The story of Schindler itself is fascinating, but Keneally lost this listeners interest for a while when he digressed into his own life as an English Professor in the gap between the book coming out and the film being made. In some ways the book seems to forget if it is the story of the search for Schindler, or the story of Thomas Keneally.

But in the overall context of such a great and fascinating story, this is a minor gripe (although it costs him a star)

I would almost recommend the audio version (bar the price) above the written version for the narrator's ability.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 October 2012
Up to 1980, the name of Oskar Schindler meant little outside the community of Holocaust survivors. Then an Australian novelist needing a new briefcase walked into Poldek Pfefferburg's Hollywood store.

Keneally found in Pfefferburg a force of nature determined to reveal to the world the story of Schindler and those he saved. The book tells how, over the next 15 years, their partnership enabled Keneally to write his epochal novel, which then led Spielberg to open the story to an ever wider audience via his film. (Pfefferburg's role did not end with the success of the book, and in meetings with Spielberg he did not scruple to play the card "we're both Jews, I'm the older, so you need to regard me with respect.")

There is brief coverage of the final stages of publication, including the need to obtain legal release for mention of names not only from the Schindlerjuden but also from former SS men. (How did they get contact details for the SS veterans? Simon Wiesenthal? The Odessa? ... the mind boggles ...)

The history of the film production includes such issues as Keneally's anecdote of how Spielberg gently "sacked" him from involvement in the film, and a long discussion of the title change from the book "Ark" to the book "List". This section helps you to understand how an author, though pleased with a great film adaptation, still feels some loss of ownership and of the original spirit of his book.

Keneally shows that he is rightly proud of his achievement, but he also exhibits a candid modesty, e.g. his doubt as to whether the book, as only moderately fictionalising history, should ever have been a candidate for the Booker Prize.
The question not answered (and it will probably never be answered) is, to quote Keneally, "where in Schindler altruism ended and opportunism began." Or, as Helen Hirsch more crudely told Keneally, "His motives you couldn't guess and, being who he was, they made sense only in him. In some ways he was crazy."

This is not, in itself, a great book, but it is absorbing, valuable background to Keneally's masterwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
I'm surprised by some of the nit-picking, negative reviews of this book. In itself, it isn't a literary masterpiece; but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a writer's diary; the story of the writing of the book, and the making of the film. I guess the best way to think about it would be as the written equivalent of those 'special bonus features' that accompany so many movies on DVD, and on those terms it's a great read. Although written as a single narrative, I think of it in four sections: Thomas Keneally's 'finding' the story, researching and writing the book, the making of the film, and it's release and aftermath. As someone who loved the book and regards the film as one of THE movie masterpieces, I enjoyed it all. I found the sections on Keneally's research, and particularly the stories of his interviews with the survivors, very moving and they added to my appreciation and understanding of the Schindler story. At the heart of this book is Poldek Pfefferberg, and I'm also left touched by Poldek's stand to have the story of the man who saved his life told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
The story of Oskar Schindler, his rise, his flaws, his redemption and the difference he made to the world is unique. The novel Schindler's Ark and the film Schindler's List are well known and rightfully renowned. This book is an account of how author Tom Keneally came across the story and wrote the novel. It is a fascinating and well written account full of interesting detail and above all characters of admirable strength, resilience and humility. I recommend it to you and hope that you will encourage others to read it also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
This is the story behind the story of Schindler's List, the movie. The story explains how the author came across the story, and how he made sense of it. It covers his interviews with survivors, and visiting the locations these atrocities took place; so many years after, things look so peaceful, and yet Thomas Keneally knew that was not the case. This is a wonderful book, about the struggle he had to write the book, and also to get it on the big screen. If you have read Schindler's Ark, this is a must 2nd read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse