Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
80
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2010
I'm currently going through a divorce and have 2 children. Trying to explain the situation to them, is at times difficult especially as at times its difficult for me to understand and answer questions that really have no answers! This book is simply brilliant.. It explains things in such an ideal way. The poetry is fantastic.. The art work amazing. I actually cried when I read it.. My children understood everything and it got us talking about everything that is going on... It reassures and talks about the things that children feel, worries and concerns them.. I'd recommend this to anyone who is in the same situation as us.. It's a must read.....
Thank you Kes Gray, simply brillant!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
I actually took this book out of the library simply because it looked interesting and not because I was looking for books about divorce/separation. However, as a counsellor, I feel that I have stumbled upon a real find. This is a book that beautifully describes a child's wish to be able to put his parent's marriage back together along with the realisation that sometimes things don't always turn out the way we want them too. It also offers much reassurance to children in this postition as it goes onto talk about how the parents love for their child is neverending despite the fact that the love between them has dwindled and, as such, is very reassuring and sensitive to the worries of the child. All this is done in a very touching and quite moving way. Although it's a cliche I really could't recommend it highly enough!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
What an honest story that tackles the difficult subject of separation. Reading this as an adult brought a tear to my eye. A definite must have for parents and children who are experiencing this life changing event.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Great if your child is 5 years or older. My lo is 3. So she doesn't get the idea of trying to glue us back together and that separation is a 'bad' thing. Illustrations r good and the actual content is moving in parts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
A great little book, a novel approach and a very touching story. I bought it for my 3 year old, and the only downside is that I have as yet been unable to read it to him for fear of welling up myself. If your break up is still new and raw, I advise reading this through to yourself a number of times first.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
I saw this book on bookaboo. Its a lovly story about mum and dad spitting up. It made me cry, but it puts the situation so well and would reassure any child, its also just a lovly story.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
6 yr old step granddaughters new favorite book!
I bought this as her parents are going through a divorce and obviously finding it difficult, her favorite part is the lifetime guarantee where it says her parents will love her forever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
Parts were good and my boy liked it. I just didn't like some of phrases. E.g. "there's no glue for mending hearts" whereas I think this says you'll be sad always but maybe that's just cos my son is only 4. He did like looking at the pages where things were broken and then realising later in the book that they were mended again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
This book wasn't relevant for my situation but it is a good book for children who have parents that have separated and there has been animosity/arguments in the house beforehand. I'd say it's good for children ages 5 plus
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
very well put together and lovely colourful illustrations. Able to have lots of discussion about the pictures and very useful for sharing with younger children
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse