Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars


VINE VOICEon 10 February 2007
This is the story of Kipper and his best friend Tiger as they amble through the months of a year taking pictures of the fun they have together. Each month they take a photo which has a flavour of the month in question so it is a good way for a child 2-5 to pick up the sequence of the year through snow, daffodils & tadpoles to blackberries, conkers and a beautiful misty moon in a cold November. After being snowballed by Kipper in February Tiger has to wait some time to take his turn. Its 1-1 at the end of December but my children are amused by the very last picture in the book where Kipper has a significantly larger snowball behind his back. This book is gently amusing and softly-paced - rather like Kipper's A-Z - perfectly pitched at preschoolers and reception level children. Obviously the book ends with December so it would be a lovely Christmas gift but it has an all-year-round applicability and definitely isn't a book you'd be packing away with your decorations. A hit in our house.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2008
And......it all begins with a New Year resolution and ends with Tiger's revenge!

'In January, Kipper makes a New Year Resolution about throwing snowballs at Tiger. By February he has broken it.
And in December he finds out that Tiger has a very long memory!'

Eye-catching covers open to 32 high quality shiny pages, packed full of large text and the usual endearing illustrations, in the popular 2-page spread format. This book is further enhanced by the huge emphasis on the months of the year and applicable events happening at the time.

Example of text:-

'In January Kipper took a picture with his new camera and made a New Year Resolution,
"This year I will not throw any snowballs at Tiger."
And for a whole month he kept his promise......
Because the snow did not fall until February!
An icicle grew on Kipper's house.
It lasted for three weeks and grew to 87 centimetres.
Kipper took a photograph.
In March the wind flapped Kipper's ears. It straightened his scarf and scruffled the daffodils on Big Hill.
Then it blew Tiger right off his feet.
Click!
This is the picture that Kipper took.

Soon the pond in the park was full of croaking and wriggling and glooping and jiggling.
'March is the froggiest month,' said Kipper.
'But April is best for catching tadpoles.
By May there was blossom on the pavements thick enough to kick, and three ducklings in the park............'

This delightful book ends with a scrapbook of the photographs and Kipper and Tiger debating their favourite one!
review imagereview image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2009
Harry - as in Harry the Dirty Dog - and Kipper are two the best children's dogs to be found. And in my opinion Kipper just shades it because of the character Mick Inkpen brings to his drawing - but it's a very close thing.

"One Year with Kipper" is a charmingly simple story of 12 photographs. Each one tells the story of a month of the year. Spring is classically blustery, summer sunny, autumn "orangey brown" and winter a paradise for snow balling. Each month catches something special about the turning of the year. But it is also the story of how Tiger gets his revenge!

This is a book of simple pleasures, tadpoles, summer daydreams, conkers, snow. It is clearly aimed at the Northern Hemisphere, but even my Australian kids loved it! Snow in February - how silly.

If this book persuades you to copy Kipper and to make a 12 picture memory aide you won't be alone. This book is deceptively informative, with plenty in each picture to talk about as the year turns.

Highly recommended for kids about to start school or maybe a little older.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 May 2011
This is the second Kipper book I bought for my grandson and it is really lovely. Kipper, with the help of his camera, clicks through each month of the year taking beautiful photographs. The book also shows in a unique and subtle way the weather changes during the four seasons. A novel and interesting way for toddlers to learn. Another roaring success.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
I bought this book for my son when he was about 4 to help him understand the concept of changing months and when we read it we talked about the month we had just then. It is a lovely book to enjoy at bedtime. Nice friendly illustrations and easy to follow story for preschool or reception class children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
My two year old daughter loves everything to do with Kipper and this book is no exception. She is already an avid "reader" and we have had to buy all of the books in the Kipper collection for her. One Year with Kipper follows Kipper and his friend Tiger through the year. Each month has a big bright drawing on one page and a story on the opposite page. The book provides a simple, and for children easy to grasp, look at what happens each month and through the seasons. The book finishes with a special Christmas present that Kipper has made for Tiger which recaps the whole year's activities and is a good idea for a project to do with your child as well. Can highly recommend to all parents, it is an easy read which does not take too long but does have enough content and lovely drawings to offer lots of further discussion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
Kipper has a new camera, and he puts it to good use by recording his adventures with Tiger throughout the year. From catching tadpoles in March, to picking blackberries in September, each month of the year is recorded. Then, during the long December nights, Kipper uses all the photos to make a very special Christmas present for Tiger!

This delightful book is a great way of introducing toddlers to the months of the year. I started reading it to my daughter when she was about two-and-a-half, and she loved it. As ever, there is a good measure of mischief and fun in Kipper and Tiger's adventures, which makes for an entertaining read.

This review refers to the paperback edition of 'One Year With Kipper' published by Hodder Children's Books in 2007.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
bought these books for my granddaughter who lives in the USA and loves the Kipper dvd's. She loved all of them and they have rapidly become her favourite bedtime reading. She loves the illustrations and has great delight in showing them to me when we skype - yes we have reading time when skyping. I can see them being favourites for some time to come
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I have bought a few Kipper books for my just 3year old grand daughter. She loves them. This one is good for learning the months of the year. There is nothing not to like about Kipper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
This is a great book for teaching little ones about the passing year. Our two year old is now fascinated by tadpoles. Lovely illestrations too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse