Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
76
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2009
Muchamore has often been ridiculed for the immaturity of his books, with the simplicity of the language and storylines, often meaning that he is never classed as the 'best' of authors.

Henderson's Boys is his new series, which offers readers a chance to see CHERUB before it existed, with the books showing the lives of 4 orphans, in Nazi controlled France.

Similarly to books such as The Boy in The Striped pyjamas, Muchamore has successfully placed his book into historical context, but has also retained his action-packed, comical writing style, which his fans love.

Without spoiling the book for everyone, it follows the main German advance into France, during WW2. The book shows the futile resistance of the French army, and how the Nazi regime brought terror upon many in Europe.

A book like this should be a must in every school in the country: for every 12 year old, teenager and young adult alike, Muchamore has captured the essence of what a true book should be, and five stars is the least he deserves!
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Having been reading the CHERUB series I decided to try Robert Muchamore's other series which starts with this book The Escape. This series is as good as the CHERUB novels. The story focuses around French orphan Marc Kilgour as he becomes tangled up in the affairs of English spy Charles Henderson. The plot is so good and Robert Muchamore certainly has not made this series seem second best to CHERUB.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
This book is the best I have ever read, maybe one of the ones out of all of the books in the world. It grips you from the start, manipulating the reader to read more. The further you read, the more you want to read. The only negative part is that now I have to wait to find out what happens next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
Son read cover to cover great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
yummy, yummy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
This book is fantastic. I don't really do much reading but I have read all of the Robert Muchamore books. This book was impossible to put down and I would recommend it to everyone. The ending was a cliffhanger and I am definatly going to buy the the next book in the series, I can't wait for it to come out!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
I would recommend this book to all people who like an adventure, especially if you like stories about WW2. I am 9 years old and I am a confident reader, however my mum feels that this book would be suitable for 11+. This is because in some places the book is quite graphic and there is some mild bad language.

The book is set in Paris in the summer of 1940. Hitlers army is on its way to Paris and millions of civillians are on the run. British spy Charles Henderson has to find two British children before the German agents find them.

In other reviews some people have said that this book is not as good as the Cherub series, but I have not read the Cherub books so I cannot compare them. I really enjoyed this book and I'm looking forward to the next one.

Djamel - 9 Yrs
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
Amazing, is the only word for this fabulous book. If you liked the Cherub series or the Alex Rider series then you will love this book!
It is full of action and it has a very adventurous story line and is great for any teenager and i am sure that adults will like it just same. This book is fab and i can't wait until the next book comes out!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse