Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
93
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2017
Absolutely brilliant. Have read this book several times. If you're into reincarnation, then you need to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I had read this book years ago but had lost my copy. It was wonderful to re-visit it again. It's one of the books that I am really happy to re-read every now and then and I always find something new in it.

Anya Seton is an amazing writer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
One of my favourite books of all time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Brlliant book. If you like ghost stories with a ring of truth, read this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
no complaints
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
fantastic story. couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
I just love this book. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2003
This is my all-time favourite book.
It is a compelling tale which beautifully links past and present with the ideas of reincarnation and unending love. It is based on archeological evidence and historical mysteries, and born in the atmosphere of ancient castles, monasteries and manor houses.
A truly original story that can be read over and over again, but can't ever be forgotton.
11 Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I first read this book some thirty odd years ago and really enjoyed it. It was also my first introduction to the author, who is a master storyteller and wonderful writer of historical fiction. Seeing this book on my shelf, I decided to read it again. Time has certainly not diminished the capacity of this well-written book to entertain the reader.

This is a tale of star-crossed lovers and reincarnation. It is a story of passion and love that transcends time and is really two stories. One takes place in the twentieth century and the other in sixteenth century Tudor England. Combining history, romance, and suspense, it will keep the reader turning the pages.

When, after a whirlwind courtship, titled Englishman, Richard Marsdon, marries Celia Taylor, a young American heiress, it seems to be a fairytale romance. It had simply been love at first sight. While living in his ancestral home with Celia, however, Richard seems to change, withdrawing from Celia emotionally. Celia finds the change almost incomprehensible, but she, too, is having her own issues with her strange sense of deja vu. All things came to a head when they throw a house party, and something happens that causes Celia to hover between life and death.

As luck would have it, present at the time is a medical doctor and master of mysticism, Dr. Akananda. He senses that Celia must relive her past in order to understand and survive her present. The book then segues into sixteenth century Tudor England, where Celia was a young and beautiful woman, working as a servant in a nobleman's home. It explores her life and the passion that was to dominate her, body and soul.

Of the two stories that emerge, the more interesting one takes place in the past, as the author vividly brings to life the religious tumult, political strife, and jockeying for position and power that characterized Tudor England. Moreover, many of the people that Celia knows in the present have their counterparts in the past, which adds another dimension to this tale of good and evil. Splendidly told, this story of star-crossed lovers will keep the reader turning the pages. Those who enjoy well-written historical fiction with a strong infusion of romance will very much like this book.
22 Comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
I do believe in reincarnation or transmigration of souls, and love good historical novels, so I was happy to come across a copy of this. It begins in 1968, in England, where Celia Marsdon is greatly troubles by angst that cannot be understood, and her husband Richard is becoming extremely abusive. Celia's mother has a friend, a Hindu doctor, Akananda, with a deep understanding of the laws of karma and past lives, who helps her get release from the troubles of a past life.
We are then taken to England of the Tudor period beginning in the reign of the sickly Edward VI and through Bloody Mary to the canny Queen Elizabeth I.
Celia de Bohun is a innocent but coquettish young beauty who unknowingly becomes caught up in the intrigues of the court and church. she is married off in a loveless marriage and is passionately drawn to the young priest Stephen who is torn between his love of Celia and his vows to the church. The saga ends in tragedy through the machinations of two jealous and malicious villains, but the journey to the past enables the 20th century Celia to find resolution in her current life.
A very fleshy passionate, vivid and well written work.
A Gothic cross between parapsychology and historic romance.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here