Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2014
This reads really well and has many similarities to the work of Simon Scarrow and Harry Sidebottom.The story gallops along introducing the characters of what is an ongoing series.Most of them are very likeable although i think the badies lack the depth to be totally convincing. overall great fun if a little light weight.Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A cracking debut novel from military historian, Antony Riches, that surpasses Simon Scarrow's Cato series for tension and action.

Marcus Valerius has been sent by his father to the furthest Roman outpost. With his father declared a traitor Marcus has to hide out as a Centurion in a locally recruited Cohort. But he has to prove himself to his new Cohort and Century if he is to avoid falling on his sword, and so revenge his family. To aid him he has Rufius, a clever Roman Centurion of experience, and Dubnus, a strong local greatly respected by his peers.

This is a fast paced story of a Roman Centurion establishing his right to lead, fighting the local barbarians, and surviving, political intrigue.

I really enjoyed the book and will buy the next two in what should be an entertaining trilogy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
1st. class,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2016
decent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Empire is a Roman historical novel rather remiscent of the Eagle series. It is the first part of a triology titled Wounds of Honour, which is great as I enjoyed every page and I am eager for the next book. I have no doubt they all will become a best sellers.
The year is 182 AD. The location is the north of Britain where Roman Legions are guarding Hadrians Wall.
Commodus is Emperor in Rome where plots abound and the hero Marcus a Roman Tribune is sent to Britain to protect him from his father's enemies. This is unsucessful and Marcus must adopt a new identity to survive.
The story then follows his fortune into history. One of the major uprising of the northern tribes is about to happen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The title relly says it all. This really is a cracking good read set during the reign of Commodus of 'Gladiator' fame, so we are talking late 180's or very early 190's A.D. here, and most of the action takes places around or, along, Hadrian's all. The story starts with a fight and rattles along at a fair old pace for the rest of the book. The characters are all interesting and believeable as is the story line if occassionally a 'little' contrived. It's also nice to have dialog that doen't sound like it's straight out of a US marine corps manual :-). Very enjoyable and highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
As I have said before when reviewing Anthony Riches collection of these books, so far very a good read and makes you realise just how it may have been in those days. I also like to place some of the battles in and around present day places and locations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I have been a massive fan of the Simon Scarrow books for a number of years and only came across Anthony Riches book by accident. He writes equally as good if not better than Scarrow with characters that come to life on the pages
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
First time I have read this author and I was very impressed. Some really good characters brought the story to life. I will certainly be reading more of Anthony Riches books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
This was an attempt to add another author to my collection, and was worth the effort! I shall now be following the life of Marcus and his companions - to the end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse