Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2010
Great book to use both in literacy lessons and to fill time - the children love the stories. The cover doesn't do the content justice,
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
A very user friendly book. It is everything you need for the Fiction genre unit in key stage 2 literacy.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
I was a bit disappointed with the content of this book. I think it would be more suitable for high school ages, whereas I was hoping it would appeal to 7 - 11 year olds. Will keep trying. I haven't gone through the whole book yet but haven't found anything yet that will grab their imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
I have found this book really useful and I will contintue to use the book for some time. I am a teacher and the material, especially Michael Morpurgo has been practical but interesting for the children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Keeps interest going as lots of short stories. Also good for teaching how to write a short story in proportion....needed for tests etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Lots of good stories, children only want to listen to about 4 of them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
A story for every occasion and an example of most text genre inside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Bought for children in school
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
Brief book review of Nikki Gamble's "The Story Shop - Stories for Literacy"

We have read a few of Nikki's selected stories and are outright scared to think of what ideas find their way into British children's minds and hearts after reading these nightmare-inducing stories. Is this what British literary agents consider "literacy"?

The underlying themes of fear and uncertainty and lurking dangers call forth negative feelings in an otherwise healthy and well adjusted child. We strongly advise parents and teachers to avoid books like these. Try instead Eileen Browne's books, such as delightful "Tick-Tock", full of strong female lead characters and a clever, joyful storyline showing truthfully how kids not only think but also how they wish to right their wrongs - giving every parent and child a positive view of the ups and downs of child-parent interactions, of rules and loyalty, and of how even the best of intentions end up hilariously funny in the end.

What reasonable and loving parent hasn't ended up laughing in forgiveness over the sweet efforts of a child trying their very best to make up for a mishap?

Sincerely,

Lena Bjerke Montague
Chief President Ltd
Norway
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse