Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 September 2014
So if you like Mark Bowden's books or other true stories that take the police procedural writing style, then this book is the one for you, started reading it in the library then just bought my own.

If you've also watched any of Sons of Anarchy you will recognise where the makers of that show have taken licence with some of the true stories you're reading in this book, and the book compliments the series by accident.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2017
Fascinating expose of the real face of M/C clubs , read this before you decide to Prospect !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2014
Quite a interesting book ,hells angels or hells demons you ? me up your own mind,tells a lot about drugs,rapes and murder.a in-depth look at the angels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2017
I bought this for a friend, I have read it a few times and it gets better every time. Very well written and informative. None of this Hollywood b.s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2015
Great book because it had a different cover I didn't realise I had read it before in paperback but it's such a good book I've started to read it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2015
its a good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2014
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2015
very quick delivery. very happy with item. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2006
I read this book, which isn't small, in about a day, which is testament to how easily readable it is and how gripping.

The authors, Canadians who have done a previous book on the infamous Hells Angels Motorcyle club, pick out stories from around the world that demonstrate the nature of the gang and how far they are prepared to go in their criminality.

The narrative is jerky as we leap from Arizona, to Australia, to Holland and back to California, but each story is very engrossing and within a page of starting a new thread, you have lost that 'awww, I wanted that to go on' feeling about the previous tale.

There is no doubt that the authors feel the Hells Angels are a 'bad thing' and the sharp contrast between the public image of the HA - toy runs, rebels, Sonny Barger being an American icon - and the reality - drug dealing, murders and brutal internal discipline - gets a lot of attention. There are also a couple of interesting points about how the HA attracts the most live-in-the-moment type of guys, ones that don't hold back, that have no idea of deferred gratification. The most extreme example of this was a Dutch leader who went into a drug deal with a bunch of Colombians and then just kept everything for himself. Utterly brazen. You want your drugs or your money? Tough. He gets killed, of course, but there is something so on-the-edge about such behaviour, it's entrancing.

Small criticism would be that many of these stories, notably the ATF infiltration of the Arizona HA scene, deserve their own books. Some of them already have - such as the Billy Queen exposee on the Mongols.

However this is a very good introduction to the Hells Angels and outlaw motorcylce gangs.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2008
A good read, very informative, if a little sensationalised.
I dont know about bias as the other reviewer comments, but if you like the many hooligan style books out there, then you might find this different angle of interest.
It's mostly focused on the USA but England, Australia, Holland & Norway are also heavily featured.
Obviously very painstakingly researched and I remember a BBC2 documentary, from around 2004, on Outlaw Biker Gangs that is very closely related to this.
Recommended if you enjoyed the Mad Max/Stone Cold style of movies and are interested in the factual side of all this - It's fairly gruesome at times so be warned!
These are the LAST people you would ever want to cross.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse