Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2003
One Holy Fire is an incredible testament to the amazing power of the Holy Spirit. Nicky Cruz talks about the many miraculous ways the Spirit has moved in his life and the lives of those around him in the forty years since becoming a Christian. If you enjoyed Run Baby Run (the story of Nicky's life before Christ and his dramatic conversion) you will love this. Many times while reading this book I found myself shivering with excitement at the wonderful ways God shows himself and works in people's lives. This book isn't just stories, it is a challenge to the individual and to the church as a whole to draw upon the limitless power of the Holy spirit and it's a calling to all to lead the lost to Jesus.
A definite 'must read'
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2003
A long-time admirer of Nicky Cruz's servant heart , yet again this book demonstrates how God can work powerfully through anyone who invites Him in. Nicky writes from 30 years' experience of trying to put God first, and each of these testimonies make you stop and think 'Wow, if only I could do that for God'. But in fact, this is the whole point of the book: God can and will do amazing works through those who yield to the Holy Spirit living inside each on of us. The power inside you is immense and potentially explosive. It's tempting to think Nicky Cruz is in a league of his own, but with his searingly honest words, we are encouraged to accept the fact that such power is within our own grasp too! Read this book and be prepared to re-discover the passion you had when you first realised the true joy of having a living relationship with Christ!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
bought as a gift so cant really comment mum likes nicky cruz and this book was not to expensive seems well worth the money need confirmation from mum. nice size not to big to hold and not heavy, was well packaged and arrived early looks good and i know its a good book for christians to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Exceptional account/testimony of Nicky Cruz, once gangster & violent drug user from a disturbed background who was changed by accepting Jesus and this tells of how his life has developed since then & the account of how God has been involved in his life, the miracles & provision.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2008
If you're a born again believer this book is for you. If you're not born again you won't understand it, like one reviewer (Failure to Ignite).
Inspiring me to evangelise and pray for our inner cities, this is truly a Holy Spirit inspired book designed to inspired the Holy Spirit filled believer. Buy two and give one to another believer who needs inspiring!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 September 2007
I came to this book about a month after reading Run Baby Run, the classic insirational story of the authour's early life and conversion to Christianity. The publishers clearly intended to capitalise on this association and the cover of the two books are very similair.
Unforunatey this book has none of the narrative flow or charm of Run Bay Run.
To be frank; this book is a mess.
Having finished it and reflected on it for some time I still haven't got a clue what it's supposed to be about. The title and back cover claim that it's a statement about God's Holy Spirit. But as a reader I felt this book was a directionless collection of anecdotes. The stories Nicky Cruz tells here span the decades he has been involved in Christian ministry but aren't related in any kind of order, either thematically or chronologically. Each chapter felt to me like a free association exercise.

I don't wish to be disrespectful to Nicky Cruz, or the organisation that he leads. Some of the stories that he tells here are interesting and insiteful, some are inspiring. But other episodes read as arrogant and some seem designed to make readers feel guiltly for a lack of faith on their own part. Still others make little sense at all. Here's my favourite example from the book:
"Have you ever wondered why a pig won't look you in the face?
It's because it knows that it's mother is a fat ugly pig.
Now satan too is a fat pig because of Jesus Christ"
Ehhh?????
I would like to applaud Nicky Cruz and his team for the work they do and I am prepared to believe that this book may have suffered in the move from the USA to the UK and perhaps the American audience was able to make better sense of it. But I advise other British readers to avoid this book.

There are plenty of coherent and inspirational books on Christianity, but for me this isn't one of them.
If you're looking for something that will put a spring in your step I recommend Rob Bell's Sex God or Neil Anderson's Victory Over the Darkness.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
I have no doubts thats this book has been overseen by Our Lord, It is an honest account of a mans vision and drive to fullfil the Lords will, The struggles and hardships are just the tip of the iceberg, Family reality and negative comments from unbeleivers as well as from the conventional Churchs lead to not to disaster and anger but to satisfaction and confidence in knowing Our Lord is always with Us, Read and be amazed by Nicky Cruz's Later years since his acceptance Of Our Lord!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Fantastic book, inspiring, would highly recommend it to anyone whether Christian or not, brilliant read about Nicky Cruz and his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
This is a great, inspirational and encouraging read.
To see how far this man as come and to where God is taking him is amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
This is not a book that I would read again but is an interesting story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse