Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 November 2010
I bought this book awhile ago and have found it to be fantastic. Although the pronounciations vary from area to area it was an easy book to read along with the CD to help with correct pronounciation. I have since lent it to many friends that have also enjoyed learning to read and speak hindi. It was money well spent and will come in handy for my trip to India in a few months.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2014
Bought this before travelling around India for 3months. Most people speak some English, and didn't understand what I was saying when I tried to talk Hindi.
I am firm believer in learning a few phrases before travelling anywhere, numbers, greetings and directions are vital.
A difficult language to learn and use
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2014
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 April 2009
Rupert Snell's "Beginner's Hindi" is the best first Hindi self teach book for beginners. It teaches basic Hindi grammar, there are review exercizes in each unit. The book has 12 units: (1 - greetings, 2 - our family, 3 - in the room, 4 - have some tea, 5 - what do you want, 6 - what work do you do, 7 - the past, 8 - what's happening, 9 - in the future, 10 - what happened, 11 - it is said that..., 12 - health and style). At the end there is a complete dictionary of all words used in the book and answers to the exercizes. I found the grammar explanations very concise and understandable, the examples and sentences used in the book reflect real North Indian lifesyle and customs. Questions like "would you like some tea" are really very popular in India and the author is really an expert of Indian lifestyle. I used this book together with the same title CD (it is essential for listenning and pronunciation practice). I also recommened Rupert Snell's "Beginner's Hindi Script" and "Beginner's Hindi Dictionary" - written by the same author they all go really well together and help practice different aspects of basic Hindi which would build a strong base for the future practice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2006
Beginner's Hindi is an excellent course guide for anyone who wants to learn the language. The guide assumes that you do not know the language at all. It starts from scratch with the pronunciation of vowels and consonants, which needs to be perfect; otherwise any native speaker will experience difficulty understanding you. Every grammar rule is well and concisely explained. The course guide is split into various topics useful for everyday life in daily lives of Indians. With the inclusion of two boxes CD, learning is much effective and user friendly as you experience and listen to native speakers of Hindi and this tremendously helps in pronunciation words clearly and properly. In a nutshell, Beginner's Hindi is the ideal course guide for anyone who wants to learn Hindi, which will be valuable for a trip to India. Do not expect to master the language quickly as you would have to go over sections a few times to really grasp the language.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2008
I have been using this book and CD for about 4 months and have found it to be very useful and accessible and my Hindi has come on quite a lot so I have decided to buy the complete course. It starts slowly but builds up to a decent level. If you understand everything in this book you will be well on your way to speaking and understanding Hindi well. I have used many language-learning packages and this rates amongst the best of them. Make sure you get both book and CD though!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2007
Based in India now, I have been using this book for several weeks. I have made outstanding progress. The texts are clearly laid out, the accompanying CD should most definitely be used as well. I like the fact that the texts are all shown in both Devanagari and Roman script, very helpful.
There are no shortcuts, Hindi is not the easiest language. But with persistence and quality support like this book/CD you will definitely learn Hindi.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2008
There is not much choice in terms of Hindi learning books, so by default this one is OK, + it comes with a CD, which is helpful.
This is a genuine attempt to try to cover lots of topics and grammar,and it is nice to be able to learn the script as well; but it is really hard to locate a particular section for reference in the book. The grammar would particularly benefit from a clear separate section.
To me this book really lacks clarity, and the visual layout completely lets it down; very old-fashioned (boring!), no use of spaces or colours. However, I am still sticking to it and trying to learn, and seem to be making progress!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2004
I have read this book from cover to cover many times. The author is my lecturer at university and is well-known in the field of academia. His book is well-written and easy to read. He writes in an easy style which presents the Hindi language and grammar in an approachable way. With a little effort on the part of the reader it is possible to learn the language. And I am an example of the success of this book!! After 5 weeks, I was able to read Hindi in its script (the devanagari script) and followed on to study the author's other book, 'Teach Yourself Hindi' which goes on to develop your understanding of the language and grammar.
11 Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2009
Brilliant service, arrived in time, perfect new condition. Easy to use and to learn from...a real kick start for anyone who wants to learn
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)