Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
A Penny Dip: My Black Country Girlhood
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 July 2017
I really loved reading this book. It was as though I was actually there while reading it. It gave me an insight in to this period of our history. I would recommend this book to other people
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2016
Gillian Cooper

I enjoyed this book so much I got lost in the family. Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2016
Very interesting insight into life in Wednesbury. Easy to read. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
Unable to leave it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2016
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2010
What a wonderful book, as a 'Black Country' girl, I could relate to many things. Luckily I read 'A Penny Dip' whilst on holiday...a good job too or I would have never got to work or got any jobs done!!!!I really found it hard to put down.....I will definitely be looking for more Meg Hutchinson books....That's a must.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2011
I read this book some time ago....and now I am reading it on my Kindle.
This is about the Black Country where I was born and grew up, in fact Dangerfield Lane, was where I was born, and this book is so true in every aspect of the times.
I am proud of my heritage, and am immensley proud of my family and friends, that have lived, worked and died in this part of Wednesbury.
A fantasic read and I can assure anyone who reads it, they will not be disappointed.
All that Meg has written about, bought back so many memories of growing up.
It was a wonderful childhood and has had a profound effect on my life to date.

Thankyou
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2013
This is a book that shows Black Country people at their very best, honest, hard working, comunity spirited and able all the love of a family. It tells Meg Hutchinson's story with humour and at times is tear jearkingly being so true and honest. Now know why her books hold a special place in the heart of all black country folk and the world, true to life, believable and honest in every sence of the word. Have always enjoyed her books but know I now the background story will enjoy them even more. Equally on par with Catherine Cookson and her north country roots and books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2012
As an active genealogist this book was very useful for background information. That aside it was also a gripping story, that was almost more powerful because it wasn't a lifetime ago. That such poverty existed such a short time ago was a revelation
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)