Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 7 November 2001
Spanish is a beautiful language and one of the easier languages to master. Pasos is a nicely presented, attractive and well constructed book that will guide novice speakers into the delights of Spanish.
Each chapter deals with a different aspect of the first encounters you are likely to get when visiting Spain, so you can introduce yourself, find a little about your new Spanish friend and then invite them for a drink and some Tapas by chapter two.
Each chapter is covers just about enought to not be daunting and shoud ensure that even busy students can realistically learn the various lessons without getting bogged down.
If the book is purchased with the tape then progress is of course quicker and it should be noted that some exercises in the book cannot be completed without the tape - in this respect the publishers should perhaps only supply the two together. However if you do opt only for the book, there is still enough to get you speaking fairly quickly.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2006
Although this pack is great value, it does not include the student activity book which needs to be purchased seperately. However, in addition to the main course book and 3 CD's, this pack does include a useful support book with the tanscripts and answers to all the excercises shown in the course book.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
The delivery from Amazon took only three days.
I am familiar with the previous edition, the second edition. This third edition is even better than the excellent previous edition. It has been extensively revised, the layout and audio content being much improved. I believe that this is an excellent course which will give the interest, to adults, to learn Spanish.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
This is not a good book for teaching yourself. It is a book for a classroom group and many of the exercises expect participation of more than one person. I also found it was very fragmented and at times difficult to follow. My main criticism of this pack is the recordings they seem to follow a belief that a student should be subjected to interviewer and interviewee who do not speak well enunciated Spanish. Whilst this maybe great for natural linguists and advanced learners it renders the conversations incomprehensible to many. This is made worst by many of the recordings having an echo (to the level where a BBC interviewer would appologise for the bad line) and contorted dialog. I give one example from lesson seven a response when asked about her interests* . "Pues mira, mis intereses son, pues desde luego, mis intereses, desde luego, seria venirme a España" Well look, my interests are, well of course my interests, Of course I would go back to Spain.
Yes I am sure that some Spanish speakers ramble on like that but most of the ones I speak to do not. My weakness in Spanish is listening to dialogue and these recordings are of little use to me.

* (actually here I think the word, "intereses" is being used as inclinations but I did not find that in my two Spanish English dictionaries and they do not put it in the book's vocabulary although that meaning is given in the Academia dictionary)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2002
Excellent! If you want plenty of exercises to back up the main text then this is the book for you. You don't even need to be using the Pasos text books to find this activity book useful. It would suit any beginner as additional practice exercises.
The activity book is split into the same chapters as Pasos 1 and contains more exercises than you could ever need to consolidate your learning. It is fantastic for checking that you've remembered the lesson and expanding slightly on each topic. There's so many exercises you can leave some and come back to them later for revision purposes. A wonderful resource.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2001
If you have completed Pasos Uno then I suggest you know the book inside out. This is because Pasos Dos is a huge jump from one book to the other. May I suggest that you either take up lessons from your local college or a private tutor to catch up from a Beginner to an Intermediate.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
This book is brilliant if you are working with a teacher and it assumes that you have a working knowledge of the Spanish language - it also works alongside the Activity Book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2000
a good and well detailed text book although could look more modern. Good deatailed exercises to help with your spoken spanish and will widen your vocabulary of verbs. easy for self learning although also good for basis a level structure. try it and see.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
It is great to get the complete course (book, CD and student workbook) with this book for the same price as you would get in book shops for just the book. Pasos 2: An Intermediate Course in Spanish
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
Although,I had been given a previous publication 'Pasos 1', I was already using other sources [e.g. the 'Exito' series]. But when I joined a new intermediate* Spanish class recently; this was the 'chosen' book. Thus,my purchase was pre-determined. However,I find it to be an excellent and rewarding book.Such that, if bought with the accompanying C.Ds. and support book; I feel sure it will prove an invaluable aid to 'budding' Spanish speakers. *3rd / 4th year Adult students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)