Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
127
4.4 out of 5 stars
Heavier Than Heaven: The Biography of Kurt Cobain (Scepte 21's)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 December 2014
At times some of the events in the book seem a little surreal which just highlights the crazy life of Kurt Cobain. It really highlights how talented and troubled Kurt Cobain was, in a way as he got more of the spotlight he tried to retreat from the pressure. Charles Cross really tries to delve into Kurts mind, which could not have been an easy task for someone who constantly tried to "embellish" their past. It's such a heart breaking book because there are times when you really believe he is going to get it together but of course we know how the story ends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
A good read but so many characters were around Kurt, a bibliography would help.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Great Biography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Great, memorable biography of a tortured, self destructive genius, defies the narrative of Courtney Love as wicked witch, a great companion piece to montage of heck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Could put this book down brilliant book but still don't think it was suicide x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Probably the best and most comprehensive Kurt Cobain bio around. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
Just finished reading Heavier than Heaven. I found it really hard to put down. It gave me an understanding what drove Kurt to the things he did. Some of the book you will not like Kurt at all, he seemed lazy and dirty. Other times you will want to cry because of the sadness he felt.

I think even if you were not much of a Nirvana fan, you will find this a well written and interesting book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2017
Book arrived in good condition. Very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
If you have ever wished to get a grip on who Kurt Cobain was and what drove him to his suicide then this book has to be read
In a beautiful piece of writing the author has cataloged an entire account of his life from cradle to the grave, from happy childhood memories to the trauma of his parents divorce, from homeless high school dropout to underground rockstar, from stardom to suicide. The authors writing style in incredible giving an almost poetic account of a very emotionally troubled man who would go on to take the world by storm but who's past demons and depression would drive him to end it all.
Be warned this is not an easy read, for the first few days of reading it i found myself overcome by a feeling of sadness for him and how messed up his whole life was that by the end of it my own perspective on life has changed. I somehow feel like his ghost will always follow me now, showing just how low a self destructive behavior and heroin addiction can take you but also what a lowly dropout can accomplish and that sometimes the thing we say we want is not what we really want..

by the books end i felt a desire to cry at the death of an extremely talented and creative artist who came and left us before we could truly know him. i certainly don't feel bad for his suicide and can understand now fully why he did it but as for what really went on in his mind i don't think anyone can ever know.
farewell Kurdt, you finally attained Nirvana.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Where this book really scores is in the portrayal of Cobain's troubled early life and his years before fame. The seeds were sown for what was to follow, his inability to come to terms with almost overnight mega stardom. In being terrified by being regarded as the spokesperson for a generation there are obvious comparisons with Dylan, almost 30 years earlier. But unlike Dylan, the disturbed Cobain lacking mental strength and a stable background, was unable to ride out the storm. Coupled with undiagnosed health problems, heroin addiction preceded his suicide.

My reservations concerning the latter part of the book result from the major input of Courtney Love. It is very tainted. With all of her own demons she could not have provided the support Cobain so desperately required. This does not come through in the book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse