Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 December 2013
Great book which leads on to his later career at Manchester United. Fergie started his managerial at St Mirren where he was sacked and went to Pittodrie where he took Aberdeen to two European trophies (which I witnessed). Broke the Old Firm monopoly in Scotland and then went down to England and the rest is history. I had the pleasure to meet him in his days at Pittodrie, always time to speak to the fans . Surely must be best ever Manager in Britain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2000
I expected this book to be a good read as I am a fan of Football autobiographies, and I was not diappointed with this absolutely superb read and I could hardly put the book down. Starting from his simple working class background in the Govan and his battle to get recognition as a footballer in the lower reaches of Scottish football, at the beginning of his career, just wets your appetite for what lies ahead in this book. The story portrays an honest but fiercely competitve footballer who had a fairly successful career starting with St Johnstone and finishing with Airdrie with a spell at his boyhood heroes Rangers, which gave a fascinating insight into the religious bigotry that existed in those days. His playing days do not really give any indication into what a truely managerial great that Alex Ferguson was to turn out to be. His managerial career started inconspicuosly at East Stirling and then St Mirren before a hugely successful spell at Aberdeen, which, was a strong indication of the sucessful, and now well documented success at Manchester United. This is by far the best part of the book it again gives a fascinating insight into the biggest club in Great Britiain and Europe and his behind the scene struggles witht the boardroom for financial recognition and money for players and all the other aspects that go with managing Manchester United. It also shows just what a perfectionist and workaholic he is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2003
There is a genre of British autobiographies you could call "man from tough working class background makes good". To begin with I was frightened that Alex Ferguson had placed his own autobiography so firmly in this genre that it would contain little of any value.
However, as you get into it, and as long as you have your 'between the lines' head on, it has quite a lot to offer.
From a footballing point of view I became more into it once it reached an era I could remember (late sixties).
Particularly fascinating is the effect senior school had on Alex, due to his being older than his peers. I find myself wondering if this was a major influence in forming the aggression, expectation of extreme loyalty, and paternalism that are clearly major parts of his make-up, and so common in successful leaders.
I am now thinking of reading Michael Crick's book, although, despite Alex's obvious attempts to hide much about himself, I think most comes through if you look for it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
A lot of people myself included do not know of Alex Fergusons early beginnings. It was interesting to read how he started at the bottom and worked his way up through sheer grit, determination and being able to nurture his players.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 1999
This book brings the reader right in to the life of Alex Ferguson. What strikes me the most is his willingness to be completely honest about himself, his failings and the less glamorous parts of his life, but also about his vulnerability and very human sufferings. You get to know Sir Alex, the man, in this book, and contrary to popular opinion, a charming and warm man he is. The reader also gets invaluable insight into the fine art of football management. And what an occupation it is! One is left to wonder what makes some people, like Ferguson, stick to it in "this stupid game" year in and year out, but then again he presents us with that answer himself: determination, ambition, obsession and a good old-fashioned love of the game. This book is funny, sad and as fascinating as the man himself. A good read, and I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
This is the old version (c. 1999) written just after Man Utd did the treble - still a fantastic read though and in fact I found it more enjoyable and well-written than Ferguson's more recent book, which was a tad more rushed and simplistic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
This was an excellant book perfect for anyone looked for a deeper insight of the greatest manager in the world and one of the best ever and intresting for people who love the beautifull game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Good reading to understand where Sir Alex has come from and his attitude towards football. Great read for anyone that likes football whether thet are a United fan or not!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
good book on the early stages of fergies career, interesting read, gets more footbally and modern as you get on,
definately essential for any avid united fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
a very good read book was in very poor condition couple pages missing but it was a read and throw away book because it was in a poor condition to give to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)