Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 February 2015
Really nuanced and interesting investigation into the nature of evil - and a brilliant example of how, in times of tyranny, it is not the great and the good who will stand up for what is right - but the mavericks. Although he was genuinely heroic, I'm not impressed by the fact that Schindler existed, but chilled when I ask myself why there were not many more Schindlers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
This book tells the extraordinary tale of Oskar Schindler and the Jews he saved from the Nazi death camps. The story itself is incredible, but it could have been told better. Keneally's prose is often ponderous and earnest, making it hard to plough through in places. But this is a story that can't be stifled by less than stellar writing. If you can push past the professorial tone, you'll find horror and humanity side by side in this book in a way that you can't imagine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2015
Having watched the film for the second time I decided to read the book.
A disturbing, though moving biography of the events and activities of a remarkable human being.
A story describing the extremes of the humanity spectrum.
Thankfully, good prevailed in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2018
The film won an Oscar, so should the book. An part of history that should not be forgotten
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2012
This is a text that everyone should read! It is about the horrors of the Second World War and the holocaust. Although it is graffiti in its accounts it is also about the indomitable human spirit. It is about how one man, not a Jew, who is not the best man in the world, a drinker, a womaniser, a business man who finds a way to save the lives of so many Jews from death. A must read but you may need a box of tissues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2014
Having visited his factory in Cracow earlier this year, I wanted to read more about this remarkable man. As is so often the case, a true story is stranger than fiction. Indeed, if this was a novel, you would think it unbelievable! A very entertaining, and humbling, story, and thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2014
This wonderfully written account of Oskar Schindler's great gift to mankind is a must read for anyone who wants to awaken in the morning, look out of the window and realize how lucky he/she is to be alive. Keneally has a brilliant, matter-of-fact yet compelling style of writing and I look forward to reading more of his stuff. Once I picked this book up, I simply could not put it down again.

Ali Gordon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2016
this is an amazing story, the book is tragically better than the film, which makes me cry every time I see it.
if you enjoy the film this will keep your interest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2016
A very interesting history of world war 2. What Oskar Schindler did was incredible and amazing. I'd never seen the film, so I was reading the book knowing nothing about the man or his and the Jews stories. It was incredibly interesting and definitely worth a read. I found it took a little bit to really get going in terms of story, but you did need it to learn more about him and his character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
Having just visited the Oskar Schindler museum in Krakow, Poland, I bought the book Schindler's Ark to find out more. i was not disappointed , this book is written in an easy to read but sensitive way , and tells the whole story of how Oskar
Schindler saved over a thousand Jewish people in World War 11. I thouroughly recommend it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse