Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2014
I am a big fan of Jane Aiken Hodge and am so pleased to see her books are all coming out on Kindle. I didn’t recognise this one at first because of the title change – but now realise it used to be called The Savannah Purchase. It follows a pair of female cousins, who are so alike in appearance that they could be twins, but very different in personality. Josephine is spoilt and demanding, and is trapped in an unhappy marriage to a rich estate-owner. She begs her cousin Juliet to switch places with her so she can gain some freedom. Juliet, modest, quieter and more likeable is the main heroine, and once she gets to the estate she begins to question her cousins motives. This is a great classic historical romance.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
I have briefly visited Savannah and more extensively Charleston and the Carolinas. I felt the atmosphere of Georgia in this book. The time period was unusual for me in that setting. The characters were well described in their attitudes and speech but not as personally descriptive as I prefer. The ending was overly complicated and left a few obvious problems unsolved. Otherwise I could have wished to read a next stage of the Saga.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
This is the third time I’ve read this book, although the last time was nearly 20 years ago. I found I had forgotten most of the plot, other than the bare outline, and – eventually – a little of what led to the satisfying conclusion. But I found it as engrossing and enjoyable as I did the first time, if not more.

The background is historical – America in Napoleon’s time – and the plot potentially a little cliched: two almost identical cousins, the daughters of identical twins, switch places so that one can carry out a dangerous mission. The other takes part in a marriage of convenience and, not surprisingly, finds herself attracted to her cousin’s husband. But the writing is fresh, the sub-plots exciting, and this most unlikely scenario seems believable and real. Recommended to anyone who likes light historical fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
Whether you enjoy reading Regency novels or not, this book is well worth reading on account of the way this skilful author is able to maintain belief in a subterfuge which is highly improbable. Without giving away the plot, I applaud the manner in which she was able to handle the story of the 'cousin-twins' without causing the reader to mix them up owing to their well-drawn characters. Plot aside, the beauties of the Savannah landscape and the accurate historical background has made this more than a romance. I enjoyed the book very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
fun, predictable, un-believable, but sweet, delicious and well-written...charming heroine, stalwart, intelligent hero, suitable villains and secondary characters...good plot, sympathetic politics...perfect vacation book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Just re read whilst in hospital and exactly fulfilled a need for something light but gripping and romantic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
Entertaining but not likely to be remembered. Broad outline but light on descriptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Jane Aiken Hodge at her historical best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
great one of her best;
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
An engrossing read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here