Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Price:£36.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2013
This book is very clear and easy to understand. Very little statistical knowledge is required to progress through the text, as key concepts are well defined in the introductions to each section. This book would be perfect for undergraduates who are just starting with statistics, but could also be a helpful quick reference to have around for those with more advanced statistical knowledge. There are some higher level statistical techniques that are not covered in this text that other books may touch on (multilevel modelling for example) - however, this book is aimed at those just starting out with SPSS and statistics and covers the major analyses typically encountered in research or coursework.

Although parts of the book can be a bit text heavy, a step-by-step how to is included for each statistical test outlined in the book so it is possible to skip ahead if needed (and it is still less text heavy than other stats/SPSS books I have used!)

There are also detailed instructions on how to interpret the output of your analyses, including information on how to present the results, which are ideal for those who do not have much experience with scientific publications or scientific writing style.

I was particularly pleased to see a section regarding how to choose the correct statistical test to use, as many undergraduate courses (and even masters courses) gloss over this process.

The spiral binding allows for the book to be laid open on your desk, which is quite helpful as you're working through an analysis. The cover is a bit flimsy though, and easily bent/tattered - would have been good to have a hardback (although more expensive).

Overall, this book is a great resource for £30. I would definitely recommend to anyone starting out with SPSS!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
I have taught research methods to both first year and second year psychology students. I have also supervised a number of dissertation students. In my experience it is statistical analysis that often causes the most concern to students. This text offers a straight forward guide to using SPSS, beginning with the basics of data entry. The book covers the quantitative statistical tests that undergraduate students are likely to come across, conveying information in an easy to understand manner. I would certainly recommend this to students who are struggling with research methods, or perhaps need some additional confidence.

It should be noted that the text addresses statistical analysis in SPSS only, so students needing more detail on research design, data collection etc will need to acquire a supplemental source of information.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
I have several versions of this book at work, and find it extremely easy to use when demonstrating statistics to undergraduates. We generally recommend this book to all our dissertation students. It is extremely easy to follow even the more complicated statistical principles are covered, in really clear well-defined chapters. If you are a student wanting to understand statistics for a project I would highly recommend this. However if you have a general interest in statistics maybe this is not one for you as it is extremely applied in its nature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
Essential for anyone doing quantitative research. Well set out, simple and easy to understand. Ring-binder style book is perfect for using at your computer desk. If you have a problem with statistics, buy this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
This is a great and handy book on SPSS and covers a range of topics in SPSS. The book is split into 5 easy to use sections and covers topics from how to get started using SPSS to how to use some statistical tests in SPSS. Part 1 (getting started) looks at planning studies and the basics of SPSS (such as opening data files, saving data files) while part 2 (preparing the data file) looks at entering data and defining variables. Part 3 then looks at prelimary analysis including descriptive statistics and graphs. Parts 4 and 5 then look at some statistical tests such as correlation, ANOVA's and MANOVA. These sections are clear and easy to follow and would be useful for anyone whether they are looking to just start using SPSS or are a more experienced user - it is a very handy book to have on the bookshelf.

The book is written in a accessible way and when reading it you never feel out of your depth reading it. There are also a lot of images in the book (e.g. of output, graphs, tables) allowing you to see what exactly should be appearning on the computer screen when you work through the content of the book - this is really useful - helping users to spot easily if they've made any errors. The chapters also have additional examples that readers can work through to get some practice and there is some really good online content that goes along with the book.

This a very useful book. It is easy to use, accessible to read and has a lot of examples to help as well. Bearing this in mind it is definetly a 5 star book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
This book provides an excellent introduction to using SPSS for data analysis. The book begins with an overview of study design and preparing your data file. It then moves on to providing a very practical guide to analysis. It explains when you would use particular statistics and provides a clear procedure to follow in order to conduct the analysis. Additionally it provides a detailed overview of how to interpret and report the statistics. I particularly liked the focus given to non-parametric statistics which many books only gloss over, however it was a bit strange to see them before the parametric stats.

The book provides very clear examples making this an invaluable resource for undergraduate students. It is a bit text heavy and more illustrations could have been used to break up the text but the explanations are clear and very straightforward.

Overall I feel the book is an excellent beginners guide and is perfect for undergraduate students. So for those looking to delve a bit deeper into statistics then this book may not be for you. Nonetheless it makes for a handy addition to anyones stats book collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
As a first year psychology undergrad (I'm now in my final year), I was advised to get this book by one of my university tutors. I couldn't recommend it enough for anyone learning or dealing with SPSS. Everything is explained well and there's plenty of screenshots to illustrate what it means. It's very comprehensive and I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
This is the best book there is on using SPSS if you are a begginer or want to try out new tests. At the start of each section on a test there's a crucial "what you need" to simplify making the decision about which test is the right one for the type of data. Plus there's a detailed kind of, click on this, click ok, click on this, tick this box, easy-to-follow guide on running any test. Students can work independently with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
I was recommended by my dissertation supervisor to buy this book, as I was doing a quantitative research. I must say this book helped me through my dissertation, to understand and answer every question I had. It even has a table that told me which kind of analysis Id be doing. I recommended it to all my others friends who had questions. They all agreeed with me and have bought it too. This is coming from a uni student who hadnt bought a single book throughout the three years apart from this one.

I just wished it was a proper hardcover book than a spiral binder type. If im not careful the pages will eventually start falling off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Having had no experience using spss statistics in the past this book was an excellent step by step guide in how to use this software. The book comes complete with pictured examples and working case studies to help the user fully understand how to perform particular calculations. One issue with the book is its spiral binding but that is just my personal preference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)