Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 23 November 2004
This book makes a key contribution to understanding the nature and context of modern mental health nursing in the UK today. It also points to the future direction of nursing practice and mental health care and a possible change of boundaries between nursing and other disciplines. There is a sense of purpose and coherence here which should make it attractive to nursing students, their mentors, tutors, and anyone interested in what "mental health nursing" is about.
The publisher's summary outlines the book's intentions:
"Mental health nursing is an art and a science; concerned with both the therapeutic relationship between nurse and client and the skills required for evidence-based practice. Nurses need to find ways of integrating both these elements to meet service users' demands and policy directives for mental health services...Pedagogy to support readers includes chapter overviews and summary points, questions for reflection, annotated bibliographies, and fascinating case studies and service users' views to illustrate everyday clinical situations."
The book is divided into five parts - Foundations, Interventions, Applications, Core Procedures and Future Directions. A key strength of this text is its integration of the recovery perspective, where the social consequences of becoming diagnosed as having a "mental health problem" or a "mental illness" is not seen as an obstacle to continuing to having a meaningful and fulfilling life.
The editors ground the text in current social policy and legal issues, as this is the real-world context of UK mental health nursing. The discussions of these issues are informative and provocative at times. The chapter on Mental Health Promotion, for example, includes a critical unpacking of how the concepts of "mental health" and "mental illness" in social policy and legislation are sometimes confused and contradictory - reflecting the reality of competing discourses in this field.
The book also focuses on therapeutic approaches which address specific mental health/illness issues, and outlines some of the key processes of intervention available to the mental health nurse. The role of pharmacological interventions is given an easy ride, however, and my own recent discussions with colleagues who are "service users" has reinforced the view that this is still a problematic area - a problem which isn't reflected in the text.
But I would still recommend this book as an excellent attempt to map the territory of current UK mental health nursing and to point to its future. It should help student mental health nurses - and others - to understand the complex context of the philosophies and policies they work within and to become more informed practitioners. It is also a useful toolbox of practical ideas and approaches. All in all, the publishers, editors and authors have taken on a very difficult task and have succeeded admirably in my judgment.
Phill Lister
Senior Lecturer (Mental Health)
Division of Mental Health and Learning Disabilities
Institute of Health and Social Care
University College Worcester
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
The digital copy of this book was key in helping my through my Return To Mental Health Nursing course, its hard for one book to cover everything but this book came very close and with the lectures and practical work covered everything I needed. I chose the Digital Kindle version as I had a long commute to and from University, and I used the Accessible Text to speech options on my Google Nexus 7 to read the book to me at high speed hands free as I drove, to great success. I made a YouTube video of how to do this called: Kindle App On Android Devices - How I Get It To Read Out Loud To Me for my fixed1t Youtube channel to help other students by using text to speech. Malcolm aka #fixed1tANDRIODtips
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2008
Speaking as a trained Mental Health Nurse and someone who qualified only last year I think I can state with some authority that where Students are concerned this is their Bible. MH nursing covers such a broad area that for one book to do it justice in one volume is extremely difficult but this book manages it successfully I believe.

It avoids the trap that other similiar works have fallen into (Phil Barker is a name that springs to mind) and incorporates differing viewpoints to great effect rather than trying to fit the whole corpus of Psychiatric thought into one square box and thereby affords a panoramic view of current thought and practice to the reader.

The book is divided thematically, starting with 'foundations' - which covers the history of MH nursing before moving on to more contempory concerns - and continues with 'interventions, 'applications,' 'core procedures,' and future directions.' This approach allows an opportunity to provide an overview of each subject without ever getting bogged down in too much detail.

In summary: this is an accessible volume perfect for MH nursing students (not to mention other interested parties) who want an introduction to the subject and a jumping off point for further study. It can suffice either as reference work to dip into as and when or be read cover-to-cover.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
As a mental health nursing student I have found this textbook to be a key reference and invaluable resource in broadening my understanding of mental health and it has contributed to the development of my evidence-based practice and encourages a recovery- based, client-centred approach to nursing. The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing (Third Edition) as the title suggests, uniquely portrays the concept of mental health nursing as a discipline which combines both the art of developing a therapeutic relationship with the client and the science of evidence based practice.
The third edition has incorporated updates to policy, legal framework and advancements in evidence and interventions related to mental health. Norman and Ryrie have revised the chapters and I found the third edition very readable, with an improved structure.
I found the `case study' sections and `thinking spaces' at the end of each chapter a useful resource as they helped to facilitate my learning and apply the theory to clinical practice.
I would recommend this textbook to anyone who is training to be a qualified mental health professional as an essential resource.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
I graduated as a mental health nurse just over two years ago, and have been working in child and adolescent mental health since. This book is much improved since the last edition and I have found it a valuable source of information. It gives much more detail and and guidance on procedures that are encountered on a day to day way such as care planning, conducting assessments and discharge planning, identifying and managing risk etc as well as other important areas of nursing practice that are often neglected in training, for example family work. In terms of learning material, the 3rd edition also has lots of case examples and questions to consider. What really comes across is that this book is written by practitioners who are dedicated to thier work and have a hands on and real appreciation of the challenges of working as a mental health nurse in 2013.

I would recommend this book, especially useful for students and newly qualified but certainly relevant to the more long in the tooth. Every nursing team should have this at hand in the office along with an up to date BNF!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
As a pharmacist new to the mental health environment, I was advised to get this book by colleagues. It's been written by numerous contributors who are experts in their field and provides a comprehensive introduction to the specialty.

The table of contents is clearly laid out, making material easy to locate, and the text is easy to read, with liberal use of case studies. Each section has a number of in-text questions that prompt the reader to think about the content, though thankfully with answers supplied. At the end of a chapter the contributor provides both a bibliography and list of references for those who want to go into a subject in more depth. As the bit that I do know something about, I can recommend the pharmacology and medication chapters.

A particular strength of the book is that it explains concepts to non-specialists very effectively. I've found it very useful and would happily commend it to anyone new to the field.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This book is a well structured, accessible and informative textbook that covers all the essential of mental health nursing both theoretical and clinical. It is an absolute must for students and practitioners working in the field, with a comprehensive breakdown of interventions and psychopharmacological treatments that work with a range of mental health diagnosis, but also the ethical challenges that practitioners working within mental health often face.

I found the chapters on care planning and admission and discharge planning by consultant nurse Jane Padmore and mental health nurse Charlotte Roberts particularly useful and relevant to my current clinical practice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
The art and science of mental health nursing is a useful addition to any clinical library and I would recommend it for all the courses I run on mental health. It provides an essential mix of theory and practice and has a good chapter on co existing mental illness and substance misuse (dual diagnosis) essential to anyone working within the acute field of mental health. The mix of core procedures and interventions gives clinicians an opportunity to dip in out out of this text depending on their current clinical field. The tables give excellent examples and case studies bring together the theory and practice. It is useful to have a text that combines all aspects of mental health and would be excellent for all students as a reference point.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
This new version is another great addition to the library and I would advise student nurses studying mental health to use this as one of the core texts that will be of benefit throughout the duration of their training and beyond. The chapters are clearly presented and cover a wealth of areas, they are written by competent authors with clarity and a contemporary focus. A great reference book.I will be recommending this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
This book is a great resource for student nurses but as an experienced RMN I also found it really interesting and it's a great way to get an overview of current approaches / interventions. I was even able to use it in an assignment for a complementary therapy course that I'm doing!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)