Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
40
4.9 out of 5 stars
The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 18 August 2014
Not sure how to review this other than to say you must buy this book.

If i could buy everyone a copy myself i would.

The central idea of "cheap grace" v "costly grace" will stick with you in your own walk with God....hopefully forever.

other highlights are his discussion of the "riddle of predestination"

and on page 207 the discussion about how God creates a community of saints.

As i said buy this book it will not disappoint
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
This book does the intellectual equivalent of picking you up by the lapels and shaking you. The style is simple (though not simplistic) and straightforward. But it is also ruthlessly uncompromising. The book is littered with instances where Bonhoeffer points out the thinking of the person who wants to make excuses and worm their way out of 100% commitment. In those instances, I read my own words and thoughts coming back at me.

This was not merely an academic treatise. It is a call to action; to a life of devotion. Bonhoeffer's life and death bear the hallmarks of someone who lived out their writings in complete obedience to Christ. This is not to be read lightly, or glossed over. Read it and prepare to have your life changed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 January 2014
Bonhoeffer is the heavyweight guide to discipleship in Christ. It is from a Lutheran viewpoint, but that should not put of others of different denominations.

Although the book is relatively expensive, the writings are of superb quality. Very deep and analysed at every angle, without ever being turgid, dense or unreadable.

It is heartrending to think Dietrich Bonhoeffer met the fate of being executed for opposing the Nazis in his native Germany.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
This book is gold dust to those who can accept its profound truths. To others I suspect it will be dross. Bonhoeffer's credibility is established for all time by his unflinching resistance to the Nazi Antichrist culminating in his death on the gallows at Flossenbürg in April 1945. It has taken me 4 weeks to read this book, rarely more than a few pages at a time. I anticipate going back to it regularly for the rest of my life. It is hard to take in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Not only is the book of the highest ltereary quality, but it explores the meaning of practical Christianity and warns against complicity with the world and all its corruption. Written at the time of great persecution, any author who openely crticises one of the world's greatest tyrants before being led naked to his execution, has my attention. A must read for those who feel they have lost their way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
Wow! What a book! I strongly recommend anyone who does not know the difference between a christian and a disciple read this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
An excellent work by Dietrich Bonhoeffer whose life of selfless sacrifice and martyrdom during the 2nd world war offers a compelling analysis of the gospel of Jesus Christ. His focus on faith distinguishing between 'cheap' grace and 'costly' grace provides a living testament to the power of a man inspired by the scriptures to produce a book which is easy to read, understand and a good reference material. I have been truly inspired and touched by this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
A modern classic on the radical call to discipleship in Jesus Christ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
Very very good book for a great price on time and in great condition. Very much a man of God following hot on Gods heels and showing that faith can cost you everything, Christ said it would be worth it not that it would be easy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
This book has pushed me deeper into my relationship with Jesus and has taught me lessons by looking at scripture, lessons that I had never before seen.

A true classic and honestly 'Life Changing'!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)