Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 15 August 2003
Classifying this book as science fiction would seem to be against the Trade Descriptions act. It would seem to belong in a genre that has more to do with xenophobic old men's sexual fantasies. I had read and enjoyed all of Peter Hamilton's books up to this one. His usual story telling style was absent. No captivating threading of the story and no substance to the story by the way of clever science fiction props and setting. Right up to the end I kept hoping the story would get going but it just didn't. Very disappointing but I'll allow him this one based on past performance.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
I really enjoy Peter Hamilton's books - and this one was no exception. I can imagine that he could write great poetry because along with a rich and engrossing ability to write amazing stories he writes very good descriptive prose. I have everything he has published. No pressure Peter - but when can we expect the next one?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
Peter Hamilton is my favourite modern SF writer. This book is about people and not alien invasions. Its about human weakness and strength, with a touch of gentle humour. Its about the fact that being a parent does not always make you better than your children. It does all this in a way that makes an excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
What happens if you are 70 and become 20 again physically with all the experiences of your 70 years of life. The hormones the jealousy the huge cost of the procedure and the demands made after. Thought provoking fascinating read a classic Hamilton with lots of twists. Really great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Just discovered this author and decided to start from the beginning....
Book was a good read and didnt take long as I didnt want to put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
I can't quite work out why this novel doesn't work. It doesn't. That is clear. I find it quite surprising that Hamilton, having successfully produced two really good trilogies, should then produce this singular and rather dull piece of work. Admittedly, it is well-written in Hamilton's usual page-turning style. There are his ubiquitous uberbabes, bursting out of every conceivable piece of erotic fashion on every other page. There are some interesting political developments, and the action is set very solidly in Hamilton's beloved Rutland, now part of a Federal Europe where the Separatists are on the rise against the unification of Europe.

Jeff Baker is the inventor of a crystal data technology which produced the Datasphere, an enhanced internet where any information is accessible.
Brussells has now rewarded the seventy-eight-year-old scientist with rejuvenation treatment which leaves him with the body and libido of a twenty-year old.
Some way into the novel one can be forgiven for thinking that Hamilton was working on a modern twist on Wilde's `The Picture of Dorian Grey' since the rejuvenated Jeff, far from acting with the wisdom and maturity of his years, abandons all morals and goes on a viagra-crazed rampage through the female population, beginning with his best friend's grand-daughter and ending up with his son's girlfriend. Hamilton may have had something if he continued the Dorian Grey theme through to Jeff's destruction of himself and his family, but alas, that does not happen. Alas, because I suspect the reader would not give a damn about Jeff's family.
And here is where the problem lies. There is no one to like in this novel, apart from Jeff's sister Alison, who is written as a kind of elderly rebel, and whose character seems far more real than the selection of cardboard cut-outs who share the novel with her.
There is also a real problem with dialogue here, and the ending is pure schmaltz. One might almost suspect that this was an early Hamilton novel that didn't make the grade at the time it was written and was released only to cash in on the now best-selling author's name. Or is that just my cynicism kicking in?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
After reading the Night's Dawn trilogy, I was hungry for more, and I decided to start on the Commonwealth Saga. I made the mistake of starting with Misspent Youth.

You don't need to read this before Pandora's Star; you will miss nothing. I wish I hadn't read this book. It was a slog to get through. While not utterly, irredeemably terrible, it is not fun - I only finished it because I thought it would get better and provide a useful background for the next book. It didn't and it doesn't. There is no need to read this to enjoy the next books, even for completionists.

You should, however, read the Night's Dawn trilogy and the two Commonwealth Saga books, because they're bloody brilliant. It is almost hard to believe that they're by the same author as Misspent Youth.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
I really like Peter F Hamilton's books. I lived near Stamford for eight years, worked in Peterborough and know many of the places that Hamilton uses in his stories. This gives the stories an extra level of interest for me. And then he usually writes people so well. Greg Mandel for instance is one of my favourite characters. So what happened here? I'm listening to it on Audible which makes it slightly more palatable, but only just.

It's like the fevered nonsense of some wishful teenager. The sex is bad, the dialogue awful and the characters quite frankly hateful. I'm over half way through and I don't like anyone.

I will still read or listen to his other books but I hope that there are no more stinkers like this one in his back catalogue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I didn't manage to lay this book down! It presentet event of to day's Europe and science, and took it into 2040. I will not tell of what it contained of plot's. But think of competing with your own father - who is at your age again - about the girl your in love with? And thats only the begining!
Recommend all the books of Hamilton, but this one is reality disqussed as fiction in my mind! Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse